Archived Story

Community Hospice named as 2013 Hospice Honors recipient

Published 10:11am Thursday, May 2, 2013

IRONTON — Community Hospice has been named a 2013 Hospice Honors recipient, a prestigious award recognizing hospice agencies providing the best patient care as rated by the patient’s caregivers.

Established by Deyta, this annual honor recognizes the top 100 agencies that continuously provide the highest level of satisfaction through their care as measured from the caregiver’s point of view.

Deyta used the Family Evaluation of Hospice Care (FEHC) survey results from over 1,200 partnering hospice agencies contained in its national FEHC database with an evaluation period of January through December 2012. Deyta used five key drivers of caregiver satisfaction as the basis of the Hospice Honors calculation.

Susan Hunt, Community Hospice’s Executive Director, credits the organization’s success to the dedicated staff who provide outstanding patient care. “We are thrilled to be recognized for high patient/family satisfaction. We are a very mission-driven organization and providing quality care to our patients and their families is our top priority.”

Mandy Medinger, an Outreach Specialist at the Ironton office, remarks, “Community Hospice receiving Deyta’s Hospice Honors Award is a testament itself in the great quality of care we continue to provide to our patients and families. The survey is completed by the caregivers of the patients we have cared for, and it is a great honor knowing that they are completely satisfied with the services we provide and rank us so highly. Thank you for allowing us to provide excellent, end-of-life care to those in our community who are facing life limiting illnesses.”

For more information about Community Hospice serving Lawrence County, call (740) 532-8841.

The Tribune believes it is possible for people with a variety of points of view to discuss issues in a civil manner and will remove comments that, in our opinion, foster incivility. We want to encourage an open exchange of information and ideas. Responsibility for what is posted or contributed to this site is the sole responsibility of each user. By contributing to this website, you agree not to post any defamatory, abusive, harassing, obscene, sexual, threatening or illegal material, or any other material that infringes on the ability of others to enjoy this site, or that infringes on the rights of others. Any user who feels that a contribution to this website is a violation of these terms of use is encouraged to email, or click the "report comment" link that is on all comments. We reserve the right to remove messages that violate these terms of use and we will make every effort to do so — within a reasonable time frame — if we determine that removal is necessary.

Editor's Picks

Chris Smith honored for work in recycling

This year’s Kudos for Caring award from the Lawrence-Scioto Solid Waste Management District went to Chris Smith of South Point. “Each year we recognize an ... Read more