Archived Story

Morgan medalist at Ridgley Tournament

Published 12:39am Monday, August 12, 2013

Staff Report


HUNTINGTON, W.Va. — The tournament went to Cabell Midland, but Brent Morgan was able to take a bow.

The Coal Grove Hornets’ golfer came away with medalist honors as well as an all-tournament team award during Friday’s Duke Ridgley High School Golf Invitational at the Guyan Country Club.

Morgan shot a 70 to lead the Hornets who finished ninth in the 12-team field. Luke McGraw shot a 95 and Brandon Adkins had a 102 for the Hornets.

Midland won the tournament with a 220 team score followed by Huntington with a 228.

The Chesapeake Panthers were third with a 230 team score. Drew Oxley shot a 73 and Derrick Lemley a 74 to earn all-tournament honors. Shane Stevens had an 83 and Jacob Henson finished with a 96.

The Fairland Dragons were 10th overall. Bailey Manns led the Dragons with a 92 followed by Hunter Schenewark with a 94, Hayden James a 99 and Tyler Blake a 102.

Here are the results:

Team Scoring: 1, Cabell Midland 220; 2, Huntington 228; 3, Chesapeake 230; 4, St. Joe 244; 5, Cabell Midland JV 255; 6 (tie), Wayne 258, Spring Valley 258; 8, Hurricane 263; 9, Coal Grove 267; 10, Fairland 285; 11, Spring Valley JV 287; 12, St Joe JV 287.

Medalist: Brent Morgan, Coal Grove, 70

All-tournament: Brent Morgan, Coal Grove; Seth Kinke, Cabell-Midland; Mark Wilcox, Cabell Midland; Hutton Light, Cabell Midland; Thomas Frazier, Huntington; Nick Nolan, Huntington; Drew Oxley, Chesapeake; Derrick Lemley, Chesapeake.

Cabell Midland: Seth Kinker 71, Mark Wilcox 74, Hutton Light 75, Luke Smith 83.

Huntington: Thomas Frazier 73, Fisher Cross 79, Nick Nolan 76, Garrett Toppins 95.

Chesapeake: Drew Oxley 73, Shane Stevens 83, Derrick Lemley 74, Jacob Henson 96.

St. Joe: Brian Conaty 78, Rainell Lansang 78, Kaylie Day 88, Adam Fleckenstein 95.

Cabell Midand JV: Zach Chapman 81, Mason Browning 92, Noah Mullens 82, Madison Sargent 97.

Wayne: Nate Earl 77, Brett Justice 87, Justin Crockett 109, Ryan Mills 94.

Spring Valley: Colton Brumfield 77, Calvin Hinchman 90, Josh Steele 91, TJ Hamilton 99.

Hurricane: Justin Crouch 88, James Snavely 86, Cam Dunmire 93, Adam Lambert 89.

Coal Grove; Luke McGraw 95, Brent Morgan 70, Brandon Adkins 102.

Fairland: Hayden James 99, Tyler Blake 102, Bailey Manns 92, Hunter Schenewark 94.

Spring Valley JV: Stephen Shy 99, Fred Smith 89, Brandon Morrone 100, Sam Brody 99.

St. Joe JV: Phoenix Huron 103, Jonathan Armstead 99, Maria Vance 108, Gabe Giomalo WD.

The Tribune believes it is possible for people with a variety of points of view to discuss issues in a civil manner and will remove comments that, in our opinion, foster incivility. We want to encourage an open exchange of information and ideas. Responsibility for what is posted or contributed to this site is the sole responsibility of each user. By contributing to this website, you agree not to post any defamatory, abusive, harassing, obscene, sexual, threatening or illegal material, or any other material that infringes on the ability of others to enjoy this site, or that infringes on the rights of others. Any user who feels that a contribution to this website is a violation of these terms of use is encouraged to email, or click the "report comment" link that is on all comments. We reserve the right to remove messages that violate these terms of use and we will make every effort to do so — within a reasonable time frame — if we determine that removal is necessary.

Editor's Picks

Chris Smith honored for work in recycling

This year’s Kudos for Caring award from the Lawrence-Scioto Solid Waste Management District went to Chris Smith of South Point. “Each year we recognize an ... Read more