Archived Story

7 area players named All-Ohio

Published 2:32am Thursday, December 5, 2013

Jim Walker


Seven is a common number in football. It scored again Wednesday as seven area players were named to the Associated Press All-Ohio teams.

The Coal Grove Hornets landed Conor Markins, Austen Pleasants and Joe Akers on the Division VI special mention list while the Symmes Valley Vikings were represented on the Division VII team by Tyler Rowe, Ben Ferguson, Tyler Celeski and Tyler Dement.

Markins — a 6-foot-2, 185-pound senior end — had one of the best seasons for a receiver in school history. He caught 32 passes for 819 yards and five touchdowns.

The 6-foot-4, 290-pound Pleasants was the team’s top lineman and earned All-Ohio honors for the second straight year. He was special mention as a sophomore, too.

Akers had an outstanding season on both sides of the ball. The 5-10, 200-pound junior played tight end and defensive end.

The 6-3, 230-pound Rowe led the Vikings with 705 yards and 14 touchdowns on offense. The senior also had 57 tackles including three quarterback sacks as a linebacker.

Celeski and Ferguson — a couple of senior linemen — anchored the offensive line in the team’s power running game. The 5-9, 240-pound Celeski was the best lineman on both sides of the ball. The 6-1, 240-pound Ferguson was considered the best offensive blocker.

Only a sophomore, the 6-foot, 200-pound Dement led the Vikings with 122 tackles and caused seven fumbles.

Glouster Trimble plays in the Division VII state title game this week and the Tomcats were honored with Konner Standley being named one of the Offensive Players of the Year and Jacob Koons earning similar honors on defense.

The top offensive players were A.J. Ouellette of Covington, Nick Allison of Berlin Center Western Reserve, Tyler Jettinghoff of Delphos St. John’s and Standley.

Joining Koons with the top defensive award was Jacob Kunkler of Maria Stein Marion Local.

The top coaches were Paul Kanzigg of Bealsville, Robert Mahaney of Ashland Mapleton and Tim Goodwin of Maria Stein Marion Local.

In Division VI, Akili Taylor of Bishop Ready and Colby Speice of Haviland Wayne Trace shared the Offensive Player of the Year.

The top defensive players were Matthew Finkler of Kirkland and Colt Pettit of Hamler Patrick Henry.

Jim Stoyle of Centerburg, John Storey of Cleveland Villa Angela-St. Joseph, Tim Dunn of Cincinnati Country Day and Ryan Teglovic of North Robinson Colonel Crawford shared coaching honors.

The Tribune believes it is possible for people with a variety of points of view to discuss issues in a civil manner and will remove comments that, in our opinion, foster incivility. We want to encourage an open exchange of information and ideas. Responsibility for what is posted or contributed to this site is the sole responsibility of each user. By contributing to this website, you agree not to post any defamatory, abusive, harassing, obscene, sexual, threatening or illegal material, or any other material that infringes on the ability of others to enjoy this site, or that infringes on the rights of others. Any user who feels that a contribution to this website is a violation of these terms of use is encouraged to email, or click the "report comment" link that is on all comments. We reserve the right to remove messages that violate these terms of use and we will make every effort to do so — within a reasonable time frame — if we determine that removal is necessary.

Editor's Picks