• 32°

Parade committee already looking toward 2003

It may be almost a year away, but work is already beginning on the 2003 Ironton-Lawrence County Memorial Day Parade.

At a meeting Monday evening, members elected Marsha Kerns as the grand marshal for next year's event. Lawrence County Common Pleas Judge Frank McCown was elected parade commander.

Connie Adkins was reelected to the president's post, with Kathy Boyd taking the vice president's job. Jan Wisenberger and Lori Young were elected secretary and treasurer, respectively.

McCown said members may place more emphasis next year on dressing up the parade route.

"We're thinking about adding bunting along the route, maybe decorating the poles up and down. Maybe we could have a competition among the houses along the route and give an award for the most highly decorated," McCown said. "We're kicking around ideas."

Other ideas under discussion include corporate sponsorship and offering more activities throughout the weekend prior to the parade.

The parade committee meets again shortly after the first of the year. Teresa Moore/The Ironton Tribune