Joseph wins first ICC title

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, September 16, 2003

PINE GROVE - Doug Joseph finished first to get his first.

Joseph won the 36-hole Ironton Country Club championship over the Labor Day weekend for his first club title in his third attempt. He also finished second and third in previous tournaments.

"It was a relief. I was nervous for a little while," Joseph said.

Email newsletter signup

Joseph carded a 141 score to post a five-stroke win over Bud Christian, who shot a 146. Shawn Armstrong had a 152 to place third and Zach Christian was fourth with a 155 score.

"I played solid the first 18 holes. I had some mental errors the second 18, but I had a three-stroke lead, so I was just trying to make fairways and pars. It was good enough to win. I made birdies when I had to, otherwise it was two-putt and go on."

In the Senior Club Championship, Doug Ison Sr. shot a 149 for an easy 14 stroke victory. Bob Meyers was the runner-up with a 163 total.

In the Super Seniors Club Championship, Carlos Willis shot a 161 to finish six strokes up on Marty Lewis.

Jane Mains won another Women's Club Championship as she edged Becky Dillow and Mary Kay Washburn by two strokes.

Mains had a 173 total while Dillow and Washburn tied for second place at 175. Kathy Fraley was fourth with a 189 score.

In 18-hole match play, Larry Brammer beat Tom Isaac in the first flight, Dale Roth was first and Mark White runner-up in the second flight, Mike McDonald finished ahead of Chuck Cooper in the third flight and Tom Brose won the fourth flight over Frank Mullens.

In the 12-and-younger Junior Championship, Nathan Kerns shot an 80 over 18 holes to easily take first place.

Josh Cooke and Tommy Waginger each shot 113, but Cooke took second place as he won in a playoff with Waginger.

Nick Lewis shot a 79 over 18 holes to win the 13-14 year old flight.

In the 15-17 age division, Dennis Gagai had a 168 to take first place. Nick Boggess shot a 189 to place second and Tyler Jayne's 210 was third.

In the men's Tuesday Night League, Doug Joseph was the winner, followed by Shawn Armstrong and Frank Mullens.