Area players named all-district

Published 1:27 am Thursday, November 13, 2008

It was a who’s who in football talent.

In voting conducted by a panel of sports writers and broadcasters throughout Southeast Ohio, a total of 33 area players were named to the Associated Press all-district team Wednesday.

Ironton, a Region 15 Division IV semifinalist, landed six players on the first team including running back Chance Freeman, tight end Michael Lamb — a repeater from last season — defensive back Lukas Morris, tackle Sam Cramblit, punter Johnathon Schweickart and defensive lineman Tony Murphy who was named the district defensive player of the year.

Email newsletter signup

Defensive back Major Brice was honorable mention.

Rock Hill receiver Mitchell Davenport was named to the first team with linemen Herbie Butterbaugh and Adam Fradd honorable mention.

South Point running back Jacob Seagraves, lineman Clinton Pack, and defensive back Ryan Plants were voted to the first team and defensive back Chase Kratzenberg honorable mention.

Fairland linebacker Blayne Cornwell and defensive back Cole Hatfield were first team picks. Lineman Tyler Thackston and receiver Aaron Ward were honorable mention.

In Division V, the Coal Grove Hornets landed running back Frank Delawder, lineman Travis Sherman, and defensive back Chris Brammer on the first team while defensive end Aaron Dickess and all-purpose player Oakie Haynes honorable mention.

Named to the first team for Chesapeake were defensive back Aaron Donahoe and lineman Brent Eldred. Running back Alex Wells and receiver Kyle Webb were voted honorable mention.

In Division VI, the Symmes Valley Vikings had three players on the first team including defensive lineman Kyle Bowen and linebackers Cody Bland and Tyler Easthom.

Defensive back Justin Payne was honorable mention.

Green had senior quarterback Matt Clarke on the first team and running back Billy Moore honorable mention.

A complete list appears on Page 11.