21 area players named All-Ohio

Published 12:07 pm Wednesday, November 26, 2008

The All-Ohio selections were quite a team. And that’s just the local players who were honored.

A total of 21 local players were named to the Associated Press All-Ohio football team announced Tuesday.

Named to the Division IV first team were a pair of Ironton players, 6-foot-3, 205-pound senior tight end Michael Lamb and 5-11, 270-pound senior nose guard Tony Murphy.

Email newsletter signup

Lamb caught 22 passes for 456 yards — nearly 21 yards a reception — and a pair of touchdowns. Last season in a pass-oriented offense at Fairland he had 46 grabs for 757 yards and 10 scores.

Murphy was a two-way starter at offensive guard and nose guard. He was the Southeast district defensive player of the year.

Ironton landed senior running back Chance Freeman, defensive back Lukas Morris, offensive tackle Sam Cramblit, and quarterback and punter Johnathon Schweickart on the special mention list.

Freeman ran for 882 yards and 13 touchdowns during the regular season. He also caught 12 passes for 163 yards and two TDs. For the season, Freeman ran for 1,119 yards as he averaged 7.5 yards a carry.

Schweickart was 55-of-102 passing for 1,025 yards and 10 touchdowns during the regular season. He also average 39 yards per kick as a punter.

Rock Hill junior receiver Mitchell Davenport was special mention after catching 49 passes for 649 yards and nine touchdowns.

South Point had three players named special mention. Senior running back Jacob Seagraves — he rushed 139 times for 1,187 yards — senior defensive back Ryan Plants and offensive lineman Clinton Pack.

Fairland senior linebacker Blayne Cornwell and senior defensive back Cole Hatfield were special mention. Cornwell had 65 tackles plus 17 assists on defense while rushing for 746 yards on offense.

Hatfield had 68 tackles and four interceptions on defense. As the Dragons’ quarter, he was 56-of-104 for 1,085 yards and 13 TDs and six picks.

Coal Grove had three players and Chesapeake two named to the Division V special mention list.

The Hornets landed junior fullback Frank Delawder who ran for 833 yards and 10 touchdowns in eight and a half games, senior defensive back Chris Brammer, and senior lineman Travis Sherman.

Chesapeake senior defensive back and quarterback Aaron Donahoe — 653 yards passing and 405 rushing — was honored along with two-way junior lineman Brent Eldred.

In Division VI, Symmes Valley had three players named special mention.

Senior linebacker Cody Bland with 104 tackles, junior linebacker Tyler Easthom with 105 tackles, and defensive tackle Kyle Bowen were honors. Bowen also played quarterback and led the team with 670 yards rushing and scored nine touchdowns.

Green senior quarterback and defensive back Matt Clarke was a special team selection.