• 64°

Boy Scouts honor local Eagle Scouts at Vern Riffe

PORTSMOUTH — Ron LeMaster, Honorary Chairman, welcomed more than 75 Scouts, Scouters and Friends of Scouting to the 2009 Boy Scout Vern Riffe Leadership Dinner.

Held in the Grand Lobby of the Vern Riffe Center for the Arts at Shawnee State University, the dinner is the largest fund raising effort for the Tecumseh District of the Simon Kenton Council, Boy Scouts of America and is critical to ensuring that the highest quality Scouting programs are available to as many youth as possible in our area.

Highlights of the evening included the introduction of 16 Eagle Scouts from the Class of 2008.

Opal Spears, Tecumseh District Chairman, presented Micah Martin Redden of Troop 12 in Portsmouth, Aaron Michael Otworth of Troop 19 in Franklin Furnace, Daniel Ray Opper of Troop 21 in Wheelersburg, Joshua Blake Lanier of Troop 32 in Lucasville, Sean Duane Stiltner of Troop 52 in Minford, Aaron Keith Lawson of Troop 98 in South Shore, Jeremy Wayne Wrenn of Troop 104 in Ironton, Michael Vance Henderson of Troop 106 in Ironton, Korey Scott Hina, Matthew Joseph Crawford, and Zachary Danial Lewis all of Troop 161 in Russell, Gary Matthew Blevins, Foster Brandon Gipson, and Andrew William Imel all of Troop 172 in Argillite, and Seth Dale Harper and Ryan Matthew Sullivan of Troop 202 in Raceland.

“The goals of Scouting — citizenship training, character development, and personal fitness — remain important for all Scouts. However, only about 3 percent of the young men in the Scouting program attain the goal of Eagle rank,” Spears said.

“The fact that a boy is an Eagle Scout has always carried with it a special significance, not only in Scouting but also as he enters higher education, business or industry, and community service.”

Vernal “Skip” G. Riffe III along with his son Vernal “Nick” G. Riffe IV presented the prestigious Vern Riffe Leadership Awards in honor of their Father and Grandfather, the late Vernal G. Riffe II.

Accepting the award for an Outstanding Business was Bodmer & Hannah General and Masonry Contractors of Friendship.

Bodmer and Hannah was recognized for their strong financial support and commitment to the local Boy Scouts and to other organizations in the surrounding communities throughout Scioto and Greenup Counties.

Dan Palmer, District Coordinator of the Lawrence-Scioto Solid Waste Management District (LSSWMD), accepted the award for an Outstanding Organization.

The LSSWMD was recognized for through strong commitment as a not-for-profit citizen that encourages the community to take an active part in keeping their communities clean.

Receiving the award for an Outstanding Individual was a friend of scouting Tim Arms, Owner of Ye Olde Lantern in Portsmouth, he has been actively involved in supporting the Boy Scouts and area high schools.

Additionally, his involvement in civic and community endeavors exemplify the ideals of this award.

Martha Channell, District Executive of the Tecumseh District, expressed gratitude to the attendees and donors.

“Scouting is such a vital part of our community, and it’s the community that keeps Scouting alive,” Channell said. “Everyone plays a part, from the parents who take the time for their children, the leaders who take the time for everyone’s children and the supporters who fund the programs that serve our Scouts.”