OUS honors academic excellence

Published 10:22 am Tuesday, June 9, 2009

IRONTON — The best of the best took center stage Monday night.

Following years of hard work, dedication and the occasional “all-nighter,” students from all across the Ohio University Southern landscape were honored at the school’s annual Student Recognition Ceremony.

In front of an enthusiastic gathering of family and friends in the Bowman Auditorium, those students who made the climb to the top of the OUS academic summit were awarded certificates and plaques for their accomplishments by faculty and staff members.

Email newsletter signup

“They say that catalyst affects change,” said OUS Interim Dean Dr. Bill Willan when starting off the ceremony. “We are among a group of students who are catalyst.”

Some of the groups and clubs honored during the first portion of the ceremony were the college’s academic team, ACTION Psychology Club, “Envoi” publication, literature club, Relay for Life student team, student nurses association, March for Babies student team, Kappa Delta Pi education honor society, OUS Research and Creativity Expo, and the school’s equine studies department.

Also honored with Outstanding Academic Achievement were 97 members of the OUS student body who qualified by being named to the dean’s list two times during the academic year.

Named as Outstanding Student Leaders for their campus involvement were: Timothy Adkins, Joseph Bass, Christopher Cecil, Carolyn Massie, Robert Maynard, David Nichols, Ryan Niemer, Zack Stimpert and Luke VanKeuren.

Shayna Miller took home the prestigious Lester Crow Award in student teaching. Miller, who completed her student-teaching requirement this past year, was one of only four recipients of the award in the entire Ohio University System. The award also came with a $500 cash prize.

Named as outstanding graduates in their respective Associate degree fields were:

Geoffrey Lyons, Associate of Arts; Mary Napier, Associate of Science; Celestia Pemberton, Associate of Applied Business, Accounting Technology; Cindy Marshall, Associate of Applied Business Management Technology; Bethany Smith and Heidi Reed, Associate of Applied Science, Associate Degree Nursing; Kevin Davis, Associate of Applied Science, Child Development; Michael Bell, Associate of Applied Science, Computer Science Technology; Trent Pekkala, Associate of Applied Science, Electronic Media; Kelli Whitesel Associate of Applied Science, Equine Studies; Jennifer McKenzie, Associate of Applied Science, Human Services Technology and Eddie Jenkins, Associate of Applied Science, Law Enforcement Technology.

Named as outstanding graduates in their respective Bachelor degree fields were:

Maria Behnke, Bachelor of Arts/Science; Kristy Webb, Bachelor of Business Administration, Aaron Bollinger, Bachelor of Criminal Justice; Craig Patton, Bachelor of Science in Communication; Marissa Wilson, Bachelor of Science in Education; Vicki Bailey, Bachelor of Science in Health; Stacey Ross, Bachelor of Science in Nursing; Amanda Gabehart, Bachelor of Specialized Studies and David Nichols, Bachelor of Technical and Applied Studies.

Monday’s student recognition ceremony kicks off graduation week at OUS. On June 12, OUS will celebrate its graduate recognition ceremony at 7 p.m. in the Ironton campus’ Shafer Courtyard.