• 61°

Child Welfare Club all ready for spring

IRONTON  — The Child Welfare Club is making plans for its annual spring salad luncheon.

The fund-raiser and social event will be at 12:30 p.m. Thursday. The doors will be open at noon at the First Church of the Nazarene on Fourth and Pleasant streets.

The cost for the lunch is $7.

The luncheon is a major event and it takes everyone in the club to make it a success.

Each year the club has a different group of students to come as entertainment for the luncheon. This year the Ironton Singers and Kathy Price will be at the luncheon.

There will be a raffle to win a $100 gift or a $50 gift. Participants do not need to be present to win these items. The raffle tickets and luncheon tickets can be purchased from any club member. There are various businesses that donate the door prizes each year.

The Child Welfare Club members pride themselves on supporting and sponsoring various projects throughout the year that will improve the quality of life for children in our area.

“If there is a project we can help a child with or something will improve his/her education then we are very interested” said club President Jane Griffith.

“Some of the projects we have sponsored this year are the Eddy Awards (Scholastic Achievements Awards) for the top sixth-grade students in the elementary school., the Freshie Award and we have helped the St. Paul Lutheran Church with the Tools for Schools and Christmas with Dignity, Domestic Violence, Secret Santa projects, various food pantries throughout the city, City Mission, Academy of Excellence, sponsored an endowment to the Ohio University Southern Campus, helped students who travel for educational purposes and sponsored a Gus Macker Team,” Griffith said.

There are a few days left to get tickets or make reservations for the luncheon. If you would like tickets for the luncheon please call Janice Heaberlin 532-7988 or Barb Waginger 532-7905.

The officers for this year are President Jane Griffith, Vice President Carol Allen, Recording Secretary Janice Heaberlin, Corresponding Secretary Sandy Cloran, Treasurer Becky Depriest, Press Reporter Nancy Corn and Parliamentarian Cindy Brown.