• 43°

Rocky Top hosts Opening Night

COAL GROVE — The seventh season of racing at the Rocky Top Raceway will officially get underway Friday with the annual “Opening Night” races.

With a list of previous winners featuring many of the top drivers in the sport both nationally and regionally, Opening Night is always one of the most anticipated races of the season.

The biggest storyline of the past few Opening Night races has been the winning streak of the Conley Motorsports teams in the Late Model division. Between drivers R. J. Conley and Rod Conley, Conley Motorsports has won Opening Night at Rocky Top Raceway the past four years.

R. J. Conley has won three of those four races and will be looking for his third Opening Night win in a row.

In the AMRA Modified division, Opening Night historically has produced one of the highest car counts and most exciting feature races of the season. Another interesting statistic is the AMRA Modified Opening Night winner has went on to win the track championship in four out of six seasons.

Todd Robinson accomplished that feat in 2004, 2007, and 2008 and David McWilliams did it in 2005.

Anticipation is high heading into Opening Night in both the Bomber and Mod Lite divisions. Rules changes in the Bomber division should create the most competitive field ever for an Opening Night race. Several new teams in the Mod Lite division will make for good car counts and good racing all season long.

General admission to the Opening Night races is $12 for adults, $2 for children 7-12 and children 6-and under are free. Pit admission is $25.

Gates open at 4 p.m. with a champions presentation honoring the top three in points from 2009 at 7:15 and Hot Laps around 7:40.

For more information visit www.rockytopraceway.net.