• 48°

Child Welfare Club announces Eddy Test winners

IRONTON — The Child Welfare Club has announced the winners of the 2010 Eddy awards.

The club’s Eddy Test is given to the top 25 percent of sixth grade students from Ironton Middle School and St. Lawrence Catholic School.

This year 27 students qualified to take the test which was administered on Feb. 4 at Ironton Middle School.

The Child Welfare Club began with the primary goal of helping children. Throughout the years, the club has provided many programs for the children of Ironton.

The Eddy Award was established to identify students who attained top academic achievement in the sixth grade. This year nine students have been named as recipients of an Eddy Award.

The honorees for this year are:

Emily Anderson, daughter of Larry and Cindy Anderson; Logan Carrico, son of Jim and Julie Carrico; Zachary Freeman, son of David and Viki Freeman; Shyla Brianne Gaskins, daughter of Brandi Madden and Barry Gaskins; Logan Augustus Gliechauf, son of Dr. and Mrs. Carl A. Gleichauf; Nathan McCorcle, son of Victoria McCorcle; Tyler Milleson, son of Dr. Jim and Aleisha Milleson; Parker Rowe, son of Bob and Pam Rowe; Donnie Stapleton III, son of Donnie and Nikki Stapleton.

The winners, with their parents and guests, will be honored with an awards banquet at 6 p.m. on Thursday, May 13 at Ohio University Southern Campus in the Mains Rotunda.