• 59°

Dragons, Lady Dragons win OVC cross country

Fairland Dragons’ junior distance runner Tanner Mattie won the individual championship as he led his team to the OVC cross country title. (The Ironton Tribune / Kent Sanborn of Southern Ohio Sports Photos)

BIDWELL — These Dragons can run.

The Fairland Dragons and Lady Dragons both came away with Ohio Valley Conference cross country championships during the league meet held Tuesday.

Led by Tanner Mattie with the individual championship, the Dragons had a mere 18 points to win the league meet. The River Valley Raiders had 51 points and the Coal Grove Hornets finished with 67 points.

In the girls’ meet, Fairland had 25 points to River Valley 34 total.

Mattie’s winning time of 19:10 was more than a minute better than runner-up and teammate Raine Wireman who ran a 20:13 time. The Dragons’ Ryan Stewart was third at 20:40.

Coal Grove’s Jacob Pauley broke up the Fairland group as he ran a 20:46 to take fourth place. Fairland’s Chad McComas was fifth at 21:05, River Valley’s Trent Wolfe ran a 21:22 and Fairland’s Logan Rowe was seventh at 21:38.

Rock Hill had two runners as Austin Smith ran a 22:22 and placed eighth while Chandler Haskins posted a 30:34 time.

South Point entered four runners led by John Archibault at 25:02 and Dakota Wilburn at 25:09 as they placed 18th and 19th, respectively. Brandon Conley finished with a 33:57 time and Tyler Payne 34:20.

Teams must have at least five runners to qualify for the team standings.

Fairland’s other runners didn’t place but still ran well.

Rob Hinshaw had a 22:37 time, Dylan Hannon 22:41, Timmy Emery 23:16, Ian Beaty 23:29, Tanner Shenewark 25:32, Dylan Bentley 26:25, Trey Davis 27:28, Kenny Smith 29:49, and Brian O’Keefe 29:53.

Coal Grove’s T.J. Barrett — who doubles as an end of the football team — ran a 24:36 for the Hornets to place 17th overall.

The Hornets Cody Melvin ran a 26:14, Codey Erwin 27:42 and Chris Jewell had a 33:58 time.

River Valley’s top runner behind Wolfe was Jared Hollinsworth was ninth at 22:34. Chris Goodrich ran a 23:01, Richie Jackson 24:34, Jamil Stepney 25:28, Nate Shuler 27:51 and Chey Eblin 29:10.

Katie Blodgett of River Valley ran a 24:34 to win the individual girls’ title, but Fairland was won by taking the second, fourth, fifth, sixth and eighth places.

Megan Ashton ran a 25:48 to finish second and lead the Lady Dragons. Sydney Pettit ran a 26:58 to place fourth, Tori Hutchinson was fifth at 27:01, Mariah Chaffin sixth at 27:07, Carrie Tanner ninth with a 29:37 time and Savannah Nelson 10th at 29:47.

Other runners for the Lady Dragons included Kennon Clarkson at 31:45, Carmen Webb 31:58, Kendall Hotmer 33:14, and Hollie Spotts 36:10.

River Valley’s Jessi Hager was third with a 26:17 time and Keyana Ware was seventh at 27:50. Carissa Wolfe was the next Lady Raider as she finished 14th with a 32:43 time and three spots back was Sonja Rankin at 33:45.

Jessia Halley ran a 34:28 and Olivia Walker 36:22.

South Point’s Sarah Letchford was eighth with a 29:09 clocking. Teammate Hanna Kelley ran a 39:54.

Ohio Valley Conference

Cross Country Meet

Boys’ All-Conference

Runner, School Time

Tanner Mattie, Fairland 19:10

Raine Wireman, Fairland 20:13

Ryan Stewart, Fairland 20:40

Jacob Pauley, Coal Grove 20:46

Chad McComas, Fairland 21:05

Trent Wolfe, River Valley 21:22

Logan Rowe, Fairland 21:38

Austin Smith, Rock Hill 22:22

Girls’ All-Conference

Runner, School Time

Katie Blodgett, River Valley 24:34

Megan Ashton, Fairland 25:48

Jessi Hager, River Valley 26:17

Sydney Pettit, Fairland 26:58

Tori Hutchinson, Fairland 27:01

Mariah Chaffin, Fairland 27:07