• 50°

Secretary of State Husted appoints Harriet Jane Scragg to term on Lawrence County Board of Elections

COLUMBUS — Secretary of State Jon Husted recently appointed Harriet Jane Scragg as a member of the Lawrence County Board of Elections.

Ms. Scragg will complete the unexpired term of Freddie Hayes, who recently resigned after his appointment to the Lawrence County Commission. State law requires bipartisan representation on each of Ohio’s 88 county boards of elections. Each board is made up of two Republican and two Democratic members, all of whom must be qualified electors in the counties for which they serve.

The Secretary of State makes appointments to boards of elections based on the recommendations of the executive committees of the respective county political parties.

Scragg, of Proctorville, and chair of the local GOP central committee, was recommended by the executive committee of the Lawrence County Republican Party and will serve through Feb. 24, 2014.