• 68°

OUS recognizes outstanding graduates and leaders


Ohio University Southern recognized outstanding individuals graduating this year and those who go above and beyond outside the classroom as campus leaders during two awards ceremonies Friday night.

The Outstanding Graduate Recognition Ceremony took place at 5 p.m. in the Rotunda in Ironton. The ceremony highlighted the hard work put in by outstanding students in different areas of study.

The Student Leadership Awards Ceremony followed at 6 p.m. in the Bowman Auditorium. The ceremony honored those students who take it upon themselves to participate in activities outside the classroom.

The following are those honored during the two ceremonies:


Outstanding Graduate Recognition Ceremony

Bachelor degrees:

• Arts – Jonathan A. Abner

• Criminal Justice – Phillip R. Arden

• Science in Applied Management – Jana L. Thacker

• Science in Communication – Alicia B. Walters

• Science in Education – Misty D. Scott

• Science in Health – Christopher A. Hammond

• Specialized Studies – Christina M. Scott

• Technical and Applied Studies – Christopher L. Stewart

Associates degrees:

• Arts – Tanner J. Bakhshi

• Science – Linda K. Wilson

• Applied Business, Accounting – Chelsea A. Chang

• Applied Business, Management Technology – Julie A. Kelley

• Applied Business, Office Management Technology – William D. Mills

• Applied Science, Associate Degree Nursing – Brandon S. Bowling and Jennifer J. Cook

• Applied Science, Child Development, Melissa L. Dufore

• Applied Science, Computer Science Technology, Kyle D. Bishop

• Applied Science, Electronic Media, Brandin M. Lang

• Applied Science, Equine Studies, Jessica M. Ramsey

• Applied Science, Health Technology, Patricia A. Norman

• Applied Science, Human Services Technology, Megan R. Cox

• Applied Science, Law Enforcement Technology, Joshua D. Dillion


Student Leadership Awards Ceremony

Academic Team

• James Travis Shope

• Patrick Witworth

ACTION Psychology Club

• RachelLee Banfield

• Changley Copley-Kitts

• Tiffany Cornwell

• Jenny Gilmore

• Ashley McDougal

• Christina Scott

• Heather Sloas

• Kelly Thornsbury

• Hannah Wilkes

• Tiffany Williams

OUS Art Collaborative

• Ben Dean

• Mike Delawder

• Laura Moore

Athens School of Art Undergraduate Juried Exhibition

• Samantha Aylor

• Kelsey Dillow

• David Gilbert

• Nathan Hall

• Deborah Virgin

OUS Equestrian Team

• Rebekah Green

• Caleb Roberts

• Jesse Webb

OUS Gaming Club

• Zach Knipp

• Ethan Martin

• Allie Rigsby

English Department

• Michelle Bentley

Literature Club

• Jessica Conley

Kappa Delta Pi

• Chandra Cooke

• Alison Crace

• Michelle Dotts

• Breanna Perkins

• Cody Quillen

• Tinessa Williams

Student Nurses Association

• Hope Morgan