• 43°

Flyers face Lions in Div. IV distric

Jim Walker



The St. Joseph Flyers have been on the road a lot this season, but they won’t mind making this trip.

The Flyers are back in the Division IV district tournament for the first time since 2007. It is a much shorter wait back to the Ohio University Convocation Center for the Flyers this time after previously winning a sectional in 1977.

St. Joseph will play the Leesburg Fairfield Lions at 8 p.m. Monday in the second game of the evening. The first game has South Webster playing Paint Valley at 6:15 p.m. The two winners meet at 6:15 p.m. on Friday.

The Lions (14-8) are in the district tournament for the second straight year.

They will start Gage Montgomery, Joey Wilson, Cody Bennett, Ryan Bates and Blake Hilderbrant.

Fairfield has four players averaging double figures led by Wilson with 14.3 and Montgomery at 13.6 points a game. Bates scores at a 12.4 clip and Hilderbrant 10.8. Bennett averages 5.3 points a game.

The Flyers (13-10) have relied on their defense for most of the season including two games against the high-scoring Beaver Eastern Eagles. St. Joseph held the Eagles to 49 points in their two meetings including the 50-49 sectional title game.

The Flyers will start Wulf Goheen, Joseph Payton, Hunter Pemberton, Troy Scott and Chris Lewis.

Goheen averages 16 points a game and Scott 15 points and six rebounds. Goheen also had four rebounds and five assists a game.


Division IV District Semifinals

Leesburg Fairfield (14-8)

2013-14 Basketball Roster

No. Player Gr.

10 Ethan Putnam So.

11 Klay Walker Fr.

12 Cody Bennett Sr.

20 Wyatt Evans Fr.

23 Blake Hilderbrant Sr.

24 Ryan Bates Sr.

30 Gage Montgomery Sr.

33 Matthew Leach Jr.

34 Brant Huff Jr.

35 Dustin Willey Jr.

40 Seth Case Jr.

42 Joey Wilson Sr.

44 Alec Irving Sr.

45 Wyatt Crothers Sr.

50 Wyatt Harris So.

Head coach: Everett Snyder


St. Joseph Flyers

2013-14 Basketball Roster

No. Player Pos. Ht. Gr.

25 Joseph Payton G 5-08 Sr.

30 Shannon Litton G 5-09 Sr.

3 Wulf Goheen G 5-10 Jr.

20 Chris Lewis C 6-06 Jr.

22 Ben McDonald F 5-10 Jr.

0 Hunter Pemberton G-F 6-01 Jr.

21 Troy Scott G-F 6-03 Jr.

14 Kyle Williams G 5-09 Jr.

34 Trey Young F-C 6-02 Jr.

31 Tim Dickess F 6-01 So.

24 Seth Kelley G 5-08 So.

5 Judge Williams G 5-09 Sp.

11 Peyton Adkins G 5-11 Fr.

44 Joey Bush F-C 5-11 Fr.

42 Daniel Hodges F-C 6-00 Fr.

33 Zac McGraw F-C 6-01 Fr.

4 Tre Neal G 5-08 Fr.

12 Brady Pemberton G 5-08 Fr.

10 Bradley Rist F-C 6-01 Fr.

32 Isaac Walker F 5-10 Fr.

Head coach: Jeremy Williams

Assistant coaches: Brian Wirzfeld, Brent Wirzfeld