• 59°

Eddy award winners to be honored

The Ironton Child Welfare Club announced the winners of the 2014 Eddy Awards.

The Club’s Eddy Test is given to take top 25 percent of sixth grade students from Ironton Middle School and St. Lawrence Catholic School.

This year 35 students qualified to that the test, which was administered on February 20 at Ironton Middle School.

The CWC established this program 52 years ago. It is the club’s longest running project. The Eddy Award was established to identify students who attain superior academic achievements in the sixth grade. This year 12 students have been named as recipients of an Eddy Award.

The honorees for this year are:

Mary Beth Burton, daughter of Mark and Sherri Buton; Jonathon Cade, son of Doug and Ruth Cade; Elizabeth Gillespie, daughter of Alex and Lydia Gillespie; Faith Mahlmeister, daughter of Michael and Monica Mahlmesiter; M’Kenzie McMaster, daughter of Rick and Christie McMaster; Logan Price, son of Shayne and Jackie Price; Peighton Rowe, daughter of Joe and Krissy Rowe; Nolan and Riley Schreck, son and daughter of Toban and Melissa Schreck; Destiny Schultz, daughter of Angel Jenkins and Lester Schultz; Callie Thacker, daughter of Steven and Jana Thacker; and Elli Williams, daughter of Jeremy and Darci Williams .

This year’s winners will be honored on May 8 with a banquet at Ohio University Southern in the Mains Rotunda at 6 p.m.