• 46°

Southeastern Ohio probate judges take oath

COLUMBUS — Ohio Supreme Court Chief Justice Maureen O’Connor on Monday administered the oath of office to eight probate and juvenile judges during a ceremony at the Thomas J. Moyer Ohio Judicial Center in Columbus.

Taking the oath of office for Lawrence County was Judge David Payne.

Others taking the oath were Judge Robert Grillo, Vinton County; Judge Jan Michael Long, Pickaway County; Judge Stephen Michael, Jackson County; Judge Thomas Moulton, Gallia County; Judge Scott Powell, Meigs County; Judge Robert Stewart, Athens County; and Judge Timothy Williams, Washington County.

O’Connor thanked the judges for their public service.

“As the face of the court system for county residents, you play such an important role in shaping their outlook of justice. Please know that your efforts are valued by the members of the Supreme Court and the staff,” she said.

In addition to serving on the bench in their respective counties, each judge is also a member of the board of the Hocking Valley Community Residential Center in Athens County, a community corrections facility that provides an alternative to juvenile and probate court judges when committing youth convicted of felony offenses.