Commission races keep growing

Published 1:32 pm Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Holliday, Malone file

Two Democrats have entered next year’s Lawrence County Commissioners races.

On the 2016 primary and general election ballots will be races for the seats currently held by Bill Pratt and Les Boggs.

On Friday, Coal Grove businesswoman DeAnna Holliday filed her petition to run against Boggs. Holliday, who did not pick up her petition in Lawrence County, served on the Dawson-Bryant Board of Education. So far no other Democrats have picked up to run in this race.

Email newsletter signup

Boggs picked up in May but has not filed yet. This would be Boggs’ third time to run for commissioner. He was unopposed in his 2012 race.

Also last week Ironton Mayor Rich Blankenship and contractor Mike Finley, both Republicans, picked up petitions to run against Boggs in the spring primary.

On Monday former commissioner Doug Malone filed to run for the seat held by Pratt. So far he is the only Democrat to file in this race, although Ironton businessmen Jon Ferguson and Tim Edwards picked up petitions in the spring and summer respectively.

Right now Pratt, who filed on Sept. 25, is only facing possible opposition in the Republican primary from Ohio University professor Dave Lucas, who picked up in October.

Four other officeholders, currently unopposed, have filed: sheriff Jeff Lawless, treasurer Stephen Burcham, clerk of courts Mike Patterson and prosecuting attorney Brigham Anderson.

Petitions for the March 15 primary must be filed by Dec. 16 and have at least 50 valid signatures of registered voters and no more than 150 names.