• 46°

Elliott voted league’s POY

ROSEMONT, Ill. (AP) — Ohio State’s Ezekiel Elliott is the offensive player of the year and Iowa’s Kirk Ferentz is the coach of the year in the Big Ten.

The league on Tuesday announced Ferentz’s honor and offensive awards, as determined by a vote of coaches and media.

Elliott, also the running back of the year, leads the Big Ten with 1,672 rushing yards and 19 rushing touchdowns.

Ferentz guided Iowa to a 12-0 record after going 7-6 in 2014. He also was coach of the year in 2002, 2004 and 2009.

Other offensive honors: Connor Cook, Michigan State, quarterback of the year; Aaron Burbridge, Michigan State, receiver of the year; Jake Butt, Michigan, tight end of the year; Taylor Decker, Ohio State, offensive lineman of the year.

Defensive awards were announced Monday.