• 52°

New officers sworn in for bar association

Anderson, Evans to lead group

A new president and vice president were chosen for the Lawrence County Bar Association on Monday.

Charles Cooper, the presiding judge of Lawrence County Common Pleas Court general Division, administered the oath of office to incoming president Brigham M. Anderson and vice president Scott D. Evans at a ceremony at the Knights of Columbus in Ironton.

In addition to Anderson and Evans, Frederick D. Fisher will be the group’s secretary and Philip J. Heald will be treasurer.

The group presented outgoing president Michael Gleichauf with a plaque, showing their appreciation for his tenure as president.

The bar association was founded in 1911, and has had several members who have achieved prominence and contributed the profession, law librarian Sharon Bradshaw said.

For instance, Homer Edwards was chosen as president of the United States Electoral College in 1968, while Lloyd Moore was the author of “The Jury,” which detailed the history of the jury system from ancient Greece to the modern day. He was also an acclaimed photographer with worldwide fame.

Harold D. Spears was the recipient of the Honorary Life Fellowship Award from the Ohio State Bar Foundation in 2011. The award, given to one individual each year, was in recognition of his life’s work in the field.

Bradshaw said many of the group’s members have served as officials in Washington and have made laws that are still case law in the United States.