• 66°

C-USA honors 13 Herd football players

Jason Corriher
Marshall Sports Information

IRVING, Tx. — Marshall University had 13 student-athletes recognized by Conference USA Tuesday as the league’s all-conference and all-freshman honors were announced.
The Thundering Herd was represented on the first team by offensive lineman Levi Brown, wide receiver Tyre Brady, safety Malik Gant and long snapper Matt Beardall.
The second team welcomed defensive linemen Ryan Bee and Ty Tyler and defensive back Chris Jackson.
Tight end Armani Levias, wide receiver Marcel Williams and linebacker Chase Hancock garnered honorable mention honors.
Quarterback Isaiah Green, defensive lineman Darius Hodge and defensive back Steven Gilmore were picked for the conference’s All-Freshman team.
The league’s individual awards will be announced Wednesday. They are Most Valuable Player, Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Special Teams Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and Coach of the Year.
The Thundering Herd (8-4) will play USF (7-5) in the 2018 Bad Boy Mowers Gasparilla Bowl on Thursday, December 20 at 8 p.m. ET in a contest that will be carried by ESPN.