• 41°

Eddy Test participants named

Banquet to honor winners on May 9 at OUS

On the Ironton Child Welfare Club’s 100th anniversary, the club announced the participants who took part in its 2018-2019 Eddy Test, which was given to the top 25 percent of sixth grade students from Ironton Middle School and St. Lawrence Catholic School based on state and national testing.

The test covers reading vocabulary, reading comprehension, math problem solving, math computation, language, spelling, science and social studies. The top one-third of the participants, along with their parents, will be honored as Eddy Test Winners at a banquet, hosted by the Ironton Child Welfare Club, on Thursday, May 9 in the Mains Rotunda at Ohio University Southern.

The Eddy Test took place this past Friday, and had 33 students participate.

Students from Ironton Middle School who took part include Destiny Bledsoe, daughter of Tim Keating and Deanna Bledsoe; Jada Boggs, granddaughter of Jim and Judy Boggs; Nathan Brake, son of Darren Brake; Dagon Bryant, son of Charles and Dusty McCall; Natalie Carter, daughter of Jason and Shawna Carter; Peyton Deer, daughter of Brian and Lori Deer; Bowen Gossett, son of Shane and Madison Gossett; Londyn Haney, daughter of Chris and Amanda Haney; Trinity Holt, daughter of Bobby and Nikki Holt; Taylor Imes, daughter of Mike and Leah Imes and Jenny Collins; Jaxson Johnson, son of Jason and Roxanne Johnson; Isabella Kerns, daughter of BJ and Leslie Kerns; Maddie Lewis, daughter of Brent and Teresa Ervin; Jason Maddy, son of Eric and Carla Maddy; Bryce McDaniel, son of JD and Kelli McDaniel; Peyton McKnight, son of Aaron and Lynsey McKnight; Brady Meadows, son of Jeremy and Rachel Meadows; Alexandria Munion, daughter of Allison Delawder and Thomas Munion; Tate Munion, son of George and Carrie Munion; Nathaniel Morgan, son of Rebecca Brown and Jason Morgan (deceased); Alexandra Scott, daughter of Ashley Taylor Scott; Trinity Sharp, daughter of Scotty Sharp and Brooke Markel; Allie Shepherd, daughter of Helene Barnhart and David Shepherd; Braxton Slusher, son of Angela Large; Alexis Smith, daughter of Alicia Smith; Josiah Stewart, son of Uriah and Jessica Stewart; Malee Vass, daughter of Mark and Brooke Vass; Kaitlyn Williams, daughter of Aaron and Tiffany Williams; Emily York, daughter of Todd and Melissa York; and Kevin Zhang, son of Qwg Chen.

Students from St. Lawrence who took part include Annika McCown, daughter of Mark and Anke McCown; Landon Rowe, son of Jimmy and Jenny Rowe; and Samuel and Molly Walker, twins of Shawn (deceased) and Sarah Walker.

The Ironton Child Welfare Club established this program 58 years ago, and it remains the longest continuous project of the club. The Eddy Award was established to identify students who attain superior academic achievement in the sixth grade.