• 90°

Thomas, Roberts lead Dragons to third straight OVC golf title

Fairland Dragons’ Landon Roberts putts for a birdie during last Friday’s Ohio Valley Conference golf tournament. Roberts and teammate Clayton Thomas shared medalist honors as the Dragons won their third straight OVC title. (Kent Sanborn/Southern Ohio Sports Photos)

Jim Walker

PORTSMOUTH — Two ones make a three.
That was the formula the Fairland Dragons used as their top two golfers shared medalist honors to help them win a third straight Ohio Valley Conference title on Friday at the Portsmouth Elks Country Club.
Fairland’s Clayton Thomas and Landon Roberts each shot a 78 over the 18-hole tournament and tied for medalist honors.
Besides being medalist, they were All-OVC and were joined on the all-conference team by teammates Hanna Shrout and Mason Manns.
It was back-to-back honors for Shrout who was the OVC girls’ medalist the previous Friday as she shot a 5-under 65 and led the Lady Dragons to the league title.
Shrout finished with a 79 as she just missed medalist honors in the boys’ tournament. Manns carded an 83.
Fairland had a 314 team score to finish well ahead of the runner-up Gallipolis Blue Devils who had a 353 team score.
The Chesapeake Panthers were third at 358 followed by the Coal Grove Hornets at 394, the Portsmouth Trojans 399, South Point Pointers 413 and Rock Hill Redmen 548.
Ironton did not have enough players to qualify for a team score.
Gallipolis also had four players on the All-OVC team as Laith Hamid shot an 82, Reece Thomas 84, Cooper Davis 86 and Will Hendrickson a 91.
Chesapeake’s Jacob Lemley had an 87, Jackson Stephens 88, Christian Hall 90 and Austin Jackson 93.
Lemley, Stephens and Hall were All-OVC.

Ohio Valley Conference
Boys’ Golf Tournament
Team Results
Fairland 314: Clayton Thomas 76, Landon Roberts 76, Hanna Shrout 79, Mason Manns 83.
Gallipolis 353: Laith Hamid 82, Reece Thomas 84, Cooper Davis 86, Will Hendrickson 91, Hunter Cook 98, Beau Johnson 102.
Chesapeake 358: Jacob Lemley 87, Jackson Stephens 88, Christian Hall 90, Austin Jackson 93.
Coal Grove 394: Brayden Dillow 94, Jake Sites 95, Trevor Carey 100, Luke Jenkins 105.
Portsmouth 399: Daewin Spencer 93, Jack Workman 94, Dominic Jackson 105, Aiden Donges 107.
South Point 413: Brayden Sexton 97, Ben Walls 133, Draeden Black 103, Wyatt Thacker 114.
Rock Hill 548: Isaac Dodlin 132, Victor Day 133, Colton Easterling 140, Kris Hill 143.
Ironton NTS: Brayden Easterling 100, Logan Price 111.
All-OVC Team
Clayton Thomas, Fairland# 78
Landon Roberts, Fairland# 78
Hanna Shrout, Fairland 79
Laith Hamid, Gallipolis 82
Reece Thomas, Gallipolis 84
Cooper Davis, Gallipolis 86
Jacob Lemley, Chesapeake 87
Jackson Stephens, Chesapeake 88
Christian Hall, Chesapeake 90
Will Hendrickson, Gallipolis 91
#-tied for medalist
Repeaters for 2018: Thomas (medalist), Shrout, Davis, Lemley.