• 63°

Webb named Div. 7 Coach of the Year to top All-Ohio honors

Jim Walker

In a season in which the Symmes Valley Vikings kept accomplishing the unexpected, it was only fitting that head football coach Rusty Webb do the same.
Not given much of a chance prior to the season for much success, the Vikings won the Southern Ohio Conference and qualified for the Division 7 postseason playoffs.
The unexpected success led Webb to be named the Southeast District Division 7 Coach of the Year honor.
But it didn’t stop there.
On Sunday, Webb was named the Ohio Division 7 Coach of the Year by the Ohio Prep Sports Writers Association.
Webb shared the award with Michael Cook of St. Thomas Aquinas and Ryan Williams of Newbury.
Webb currently has a 125-76 record in 19 seasons — all with the Vikings. He has guided the program to 10 playoff appearances and six SOC titles.
A total of eight local players were named to the All-Ohio team led by four players for the Vikings in Div. 7.
The Vikings landed four players on the All-Ohio team led by junior running back Josh Ferguson (5-10, 175) and senior defensive back Jack Leith (6-3, 170) who was a third team selection.
Ferguson ran 108 times for 1,126 yards and 11 touchdowns in the regular season. Leith not only played well on defense but was the quarterback and ran 90 times for 512 yards and six TDs while completing 14-of-31 passes for 208 yards and five scores.
Named special mention were sophomore offensive lineman Gavan Yates (6-0, 240) and junior linebacker Caleb Mullins (6-1, 210).
Mullins had 110 tackles with two sacks and 10 tackles for a loss. He was the SOC Defensive Player of the Year.
Coal Grove Hornets’ senior Austin Stormes (5-11 175) was named special mention for the all-purpose position. He was second on the team in rushing and led the team in receiving.
The Hornets junior running back Austin Stapleton (5-10, 225) was named special mention to the Div. 6 offense. Stapleton ran 172 times for 918 yards in nine games.
The Green Bobcats had two players named special mention to the Division 7 offense.
Senior lineman Seth Imes (6-3, 265) and junior wide receiver Ethan Huffman (6-0, 165) were both honored.