• 55°

Eddy Test winners announced: Students will be honored at banquet in May

The Ironton Child Welfare Club’s has announced the winners of 2019-2020 Eddy Test.

For the past 59 years, the Ironton Child Welfare Club’s test has been given to the top 25 percent of the sixth-grade students at Ironton Middle and St. Lawrence Catholic Schools.

The 2020 winners from their respective schools are as follows:

• Ironton Middle School: Connor Frush, son of Kayla Brown; Evie Gallion, granddaughter of Richard and Cathie Gallion; Kylie Haynes, daughter of Rachel Jackson and Brandon Hayes; Tanner Kleinman, son of Travis and Mandy Kleinman; Lilly Lewis, daughter of C. Lamont Lewis and Stacy Lewis; Derek Pack, son of Ben and Cindy Pack; Dawson Philyaw, son of Jason and Allison Philyaw; Haley Shimer, daughter of Justin and Amy Shimer.

• St. Lawrence School: Gavin Simpson, son of Brent and Jennie Simpson and Ian Whaley, son of Andy and M’lissa Whaley.

The top one-third of participants, along with their parents, will be honored at a banquet hosted by the Ironton Child Welfare Club in May.

Diana Leith, chairman of the Education Committee said that her committee could not do this for the students were it not for the assistance from the counselors from Ironton Middle School, Bobbi Payne, and the Ironton Catholic Schools, Christi Bare, and the members of the Child Welfare Club.

The club’s test is based on national testing and students must answer questions all day on reading vocabulary, reading comprehension, math problem solving, math computation, language, spelling, science and social studies.

The test, the club’s longest continuous project, was established to identify students who attain superior academic achievements in the sixth grade.