• 61°

Fairland students receive award from White House

38 fourth and fifth graders qualified for honor

ROME TOWNSHIP — Fairland West Elementary School principal Teresa Johnson is pleased to announce that 38 fifth grade students earned the 2020 President’s Academic Excellence Awards.

She was disappointed that the school was not able to hold the annual awards ceremony to recognize the students in person because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

This award recognizes academic success in the classroom. To be eligible, students must meet the requirements of a cumulative 3.5 grade point average or higher in their fourth and fifth grade years, in addition to scoring high achievement on reading and math tests.

The students received a gold-embossed certificate signed by President Donald Trump and the Educational Excellence lapel pin. In a letter from Trump, he commended the students for their academic achievement.

“Congratulations to the recipients of the 2020 President’s Education Award,” the letter read. “The first lady joins me in applauding the educators, administrators, parents and community leaders who have been there every step of the way to encourage and uplift you. We send our best wishes as you pursue your dreams and passions. Keep up the good work!”

Students receiving the honor were: Mason Ballard, Lillian Boster, Josie Bryan, Lily Bryan, London Coffey, Xander Collins, Joshua Cuda, Samuel Dunfee, Mitchell Dunlap, Madilyn Eplion, Emmilee Evanich, Landon Evans, Madelyn Fizer, Joshua Gillespie, Connor Goff, Ethan Goodson, Aubrey Hager, Keeley Heck, Memphis Hoover, Zoe Johnson, Kayleigh Lucas, Hailee McCoy, James McIntyre, Braden McNeill, Abby Mitchell, Allie Poff, Charlotte Abaigail Rachalla, Jett Randolph, Wyatt Ritchey, Kyle Salyer, Col Schneider, Madison Short, Billy Singer, Georgia Stephenson, Hannah Walters, Chloe Ward, Kaden Wiseman and Erica Zhang.