Archived Story

Chaump, 8 others named to Marshall Hall of Fame

Published 2:07am Tuesday, May 14, 2013

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. (AP) — Former Marshall football coach George Chaump will be among nine inductees in the university’s Athletics Hall of Fame this fall.

Chaump went 33-16-1 as Marshall’s football coach from 1986-89. He led the Thundering Herd to their first Division I-AA championship game appearance in 1987. Marshall won its first Southern Conference football championship the following season with an 11-2 record.

Others in the 2013 induction class are football players Chris Crocker and Cecil Fletcher; women’s basketball player Sheila Johnson, volleyball star Jill Mussman O’Brien, track athletes Casey Batey and Erin Compton, men’s golf coach and assistant athletic director Buddy Graham, and swimmer Glenn Hartway.

An induction dinner is scheduled for Sept. 6 on the Marshall University Memorial Student Center.

The Tribune believes it is possible for people with a variety of points of view to discuss issues in a civil manner and will remove comments that, in our opinion, foster incivility. We want to encourage an open exchange of information and ideas. Responsibility for what is posted or contributed to this site is the sole responsibility of each user. By contributing to this website, you agree not to post any defamatory, abusive, harassing, obscene, sexual, threatening or illegal material, or any other material that infringes on the ability of others to enjoy this site, or that infringes on the rights of others. Any user who feels that a contribution to this website is a violation of these terms of use is encouraged to email, or click the "report comment" link that is on all comments. We reserve the right to remove messages that violate these terms of use and we will make every effort to do so — within a reasonable time frame — if we determine that removal is necessary.

Editor's Picks

Chris Smith honored for work in recycling

This year’s Kudos for Caring award from the Lawrence-Scioto Solid Waste Management District went to Chris Smith of South Point. “Each year we recognize an ... Read more