Brown captures first ICC crown

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, September 14, 1999

The Ironton Country Club holds its club championship traditionally on Labor Day.

Tuesday, September 14, 1999

The Ironton Country Club holds its club championship traditionally on Labor Day. Brown celebrated the day honoring American workers by working his way to his first-ever club championship.

Email newsletter signup

Brown shot 4-under for the tournament with matching rounds of 68 and 68 for a 136 score. Rick Fannin was two strokes back at 2-under, Justin Collins was third as he shot even par for the tournament, and Ryan Lilly was fourth with a 3-over par total.

Fannin sank a 40-foot putt on No. 16 to tie the score, but Brown chipped in for a birdie on the 34th hole to break a tie with Fannin, then shot par the final two holes.

It was Brown’s seventh club tournament and he said it was worth the wait.

"They say good things come to those who wait. It was fun," said Brown. "It was well-run tournament and I didn’t have any great rounds, I just played 36 holes of solid golf.

"I got a good charge from Ricky Fannin and Justin (Collins). They played solid, but it came down to I was more consistent than anyone."

The tournament begins with 16 golfers in match play and the final four play 36 holes on Labor Day.

"This is the first time I can remember the field being under par for the tournament," said Jeff Dillow, tournament director. "There were a lot people here watching. There’s a lot of pressure when you’re playing before family and friends than out on the college course. And they all played well."

Brown, who also serves as an assistant coach to the Ironton High School golf team, was an NAIA All-American for Shawnee State University two years ago.

"This (club championship) is the best highlight I’ve had since that All-American award," said Brown.

In the Senior’s Division, Clark Collins finished first with a 148 total, two better than Greg Justice. Collins had identical rounds of 74. Ralph Lewis had a 155 and Dick Menshouse 158.

Jane Mains won another women’s championship as she shot rounds of 86 and 83 for a 169 total. Janet Brown had a 176, Becky Dillow 190, and Pat Riggs had a 207 for fourth place.

In the Super Seniors Division, Carlos Willis took first place honors with 154 followed by Mort Willis 161 and Jerry Fields 163.

The women’s first flight winner was Kathy Fraley with a 205. She was followed by Julie Roach (231) and Charla Reedy (233).

Valerie McCoy was the winner of the girls division.

Here are the results of the various divisions:

Ironton Country Club

Club Tournament

12- and under

1. Dennis Gagai

2. Seth Christian

3. Alex Brown

13-15 Age Division

1. Tyler Stapleton

2. Andy Brown

3. Zach Christian

16-18 Age Division

1. T. J. Parnell

2. Charley Yaniko

3. Adam Rudmann

Ladies First Flight

1. Kathy Fraley

2. Julie Roach

3. Charla Reedy

Men’s First Flight

1. Tommy Pinkerman

2. J. D. Sites

Men’s Second Flight

1. David Phillips

2. Steve Thompson

Men’s Third Flight

1. Kevin Sheridan

2. Kenny Patrick

Men’s Fourth Flight

1. Gary Stapleton

2. Kevin Donahue

Men’s Fifth Flight

1. Mike Kinney

2. Chuck Cooper

Men’s Sixth Flight

1. Jim Johnson

2. Rick Crance

Men’s Super Seniors

36 Holes, 2 Days

1. Carlos Willis

2. Mort Willis

3. Jerry Fields

Men’s Seniors

36 Holes, 2 Days

1. Clark Collins

2. Greg Justice

3. Ralph Lewis

4. Dick Menshouse

Women’s Championships

36 Holes, 2 Days

1. Jane Mains

2. Janet Brown

3. Becky Dillow

4. Pat Riggs

Men’s Championship

36 Holes, Par 70

1. Tony Brown

2. Rick Fannin

3. Justin Collins

4. Ryan Lilly