Dayne, Badgers lead Big 10 selections

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 1, 1999

The Associated Press

Park Ridge, Ill.

Wednesday, December 01, 1999

Email newsletter signup

Park Ridge, Ill. – Wisconsin running back Ron Dayne was at the top of the All-Big Ten team chosen by both coaches and a media panel. Dayne, a senior who set the Big Ten and NCAA rushing records this season with 6,397 career yards, also was named Big Ten offensive player of the year, the conference announced Tuesday. He led Wisconsin to the Big Ten title and a spot in the Rose Bowl for the second consecutive year.

Both the coaches and the media panel picked Penn State defensive end Courtney Brown as the conference defensive player of the year and named Wisconsin quarterback Brooks Bollinger as the top freshman.

The media panel selected Glen Mason of Minnesota as coach of the year. The Gophers were the surprise team of 1999, going 8-3 and earning a berth in the Sun Bowl.

Minnesota running back Thomas Hamner and defensive back Tyrone Carter were named first team all-conference by both the media and coaches.

Others named to both first teams: quarterback Drew Brees and tight end Tim Stratton of Purdue; Michigan State receiver Plaxico Burress; guard Steve Hutchinson of Michigan; and center Bill Ferrario, tackle Chris McIntosh and kicker Vitaly Pisetsky, all of Wisconsin.

Making both teams on the defensive side: linemen Rob Renes of Michigan and Robaire Smith of Michigan State; defensive backs Jamar Fletcher of Wisconsin and Amp Campbell of Michigan State; Brown and linebackers LaVar Arrington and Brandon Short of Penn State.

Ohio State defensive back Ahmed Plummer was named to the team by the media.