Green boys headline coaches District 14

Published 12:00 am Sunday, March 12, 2000

By JIM WALKER<br> Tribune sports editor<!—->.

Sunday, March 12, 2000


Email newsletter signup

Tribune sports editor

The coaches think the Green Bobcats are pretty good.

And they’re right.

Four of the Bobcats plus coach Kevin Lewis were honored in the voting conducted by the District 14 High School Basketball Coaches Association.

Lewis was voted the Division IV Coach of the Year and senior guard Chris Williams was a first team selection.

Green was 15-4 and won a fourth straight Southern Ohio Conference Division I championship.

Williams averaged 21.6 points, 4.2 rebounds, 4.0 steals, and 2.0 assists.

Senior guard Michael Riffe and junior center Alex Poe were second team choices while senior forward Kyle Dyer was honorable mention.

Riffe averaged 19.4 points and 5.1 rebounds. Poe got 13.6 points and 9.1 rebounds a game. Dyer averaged 7.5 points and 9.0 rebounds.

New Boston’s Chris McGraw was not only on the first team but was named the district’s Player of the Year.

Westfall’s Tyler Schliech was picked as the North/South All-Star Game representative for Divisions III-IV with Jason Hauck of Eastern Brown the alternate.

In girls Division IV, sophomore Megan Tackett was a first team choice while senior Courtney Moore and junior Jennifer Cline were second team picks.

Green’s Melissa Brown was the Coach of the Year as she guided the Lady Bobcats to a 16-4 season and an SOC title.

Whiteoak senior Trisha Meyers was the Player of the Year but the alternate for the North/South All-Star game. Piketon’s Cassie Hackworth was the North/South choice.

The Wheelersburg Pirates enjoyed a fine season at 16-4 and SOC champions, but landed just two players on the Division III All-District team in the coaches’ vote.

Sophomore Andrew Burleson (20.4 ppg, 7.2 rpg) was a first team selection while senior guard Jason Schmidt was honorable mention.

Schliech was the Player of the Year while Rob Beucler, who led his team to an unbeaten season, was named Coach of the Year.

Burleson and Schliech were joined on the first team by Hauck, Piketon’s J. P. Risner, and Unioto’s Jason Smith.

In Division I-II, David Andrews of Miami Trace was the Player of the Year and North/South representative. Bruce Miles of Hillsboro was the alternate.

Rick Van Matre of Greenfield McClain was chosen as the Coach of the Year.