Area players selected to Southeast all-district

Published 12:00 am Saturday, November 18, 2000

It is quite a list.

Saturday, November 18, 2000

It is quite a list. The list of area players on the Southeastern Ohio All-District football team has some impressive names and numbers, and the list is headed by the selection of Players of the Year Redgie Arden of Ironton and Josh Waugh of Chesapeake.

Email newsletter signup

Arden, a 6-foot-5, 235-pound senior tight end/linebacker, was first team defense in Division IV and he was voted the Defensive Player of the Year.

Arden has already given a verbal commitment to attend Ohio State.

Waugh, a 6-foot-1, 180-pound senior, was the Division V Offensive Co-Player of the Year along with quarterback Ben Weisenberger of Paint Valley who threw for 2,000 yards.

Waugh rushed 115 times for 1,128 yards, caught 14 passes for 204 yards, scored 21 touchdowns and had five interceptions on defense for good measure.

Ironton’s Bob Lutz was the Division IV Coach of the Year after guiding the Fighting Tigers to an 8-1 regular season that included a win over Division III power Columbus DeSales. The only loss was to unbeaten and Division III No. 1-ranked Portsmouth.

Ironton lead the area in selections. Senior defensive back Josh Harmon, senior linebacker Matt Kelly, senior defensive tackle Mark Gleichauf, senior fullback B. J. Kerns, and junior offensive linemen Roman Fry and Chad Parker were all first team selections.

Senior defensive end Mark Mains, senior defensive back Erique Bacon, and senior offensive tackle Kyle Hankins were special mention.

Chesapeake was next in line with five first team picks in Division V.

Besides Waugh, senior linebacker Zeb Best, senior offensive lineman Jason Ellis, senior defensive Noah Phillips, and junior defensive tackle Jesse Ansell. Special mention honors went to senior ends Josh Dillon and Erick Christian.

South Point landed senior quarterback Jarred Smith and junior wide receiver Shane Holsinger were first team choices while senior linebacker David Chapman and senior defensive end D. J. Bryant special mention.

Fairland senior tackle Ernie Humphrey was a first team pick and junior defensive end Darin Thomas was special mention.

Rock Hill senior quarterback Gabe Medinger was special mention.

Coal Grove senior running back Jason Adams and senior defensive end Clint Pauley was first team. Senior defensive lineman Josh Wheeler was special mention.

In Division VI, Symmes Valley senior running back Brad Carpenter was a first team pick for the fourth straight year. He was joined on the first team by senior defensive back Chris Lafon and sophomore linebacker Michael Roth.

On the special mention list for Symmes Valley were Jarod Leffingwell, Clint Wiseman, Kent Shipley, and Billy McCarty.

Green landed senior defensive back Alex Poe and junior linebacker Brad Bainer on the first team with sophomore wide receiver Jimmy Moore special mention.