Waugh, Carpenter lead all-Ohio honorees

Published 12:00 am Thursday, November 30, 2000

Josh Waugh scored 21 touchdowns, but none matched what he scored Thursday.

Thursday, November 30, 2000

Josh Waugh scored 21 touchdowns, but none matched what he scored Thursday.

Email newsletter signup

Waugh, the Chesapeake Panthers senior running back, ran his way onto the Associated Press Division V All-Ohio first team offense as a running back.

The 6-foot-1, 185-pound Waugh was the Southeast District Co-Offensive Player of the Year along with quarterback Ben Weisenberger of Paint Valley who threw for 2,000 yards.

Waugh rushed 115 times for 1,128 yards, caught 14 passes for 204 yards, scored 21 touchdowns and had five interceptions on defense for good measure.

Joining Waugh on the All-Ohio team as special mention selections were Chesapeake’s Jason Ellis, Jesse Ansell, Noah Phillips, and Zeb Best, and Coal Grove’s running back Jason Adams and two-way end Clint Pauley.

The Division V Offensive Player of the Year for the state were Troy Westhoven of Liberty Center, the Defensive Player of the Year was Isaac Smolko of New Middletown Springield, and the top coaching honor went to Rex Lingruen of Liberty Center and Pete Hollon of Bainbridge Paint Valley.

Westhoven rushed for 1,934 yards and 22 touchdowns as Liberty Center went unbeaten during the regular season and captured the poll title. Lingruen had 18 members of the 1999 team graduate, but still formed a 10-0 team.

Smolko is headed for Penn State and has been a Big Ten-sized player for Springfield. He totaled 108 tackles with 12 sacks and five other hits for negative yardage this season. He also caused three fumbles.

Symmes Valley Vikings star running back Brad Carpenter landed on the Division VI All-Ohio team once again, this time on the second team offense.

The 5-10, 185-pound halfback ran 143 times for 1,148 yards – an 8.0 average – and scored 15 touchdowns. He is a four-time first team all-district pick in Division VI.

Also named All-Ohio special mention were the Vikings Chris Lafon and Michael Roth and Green’s Alex Poe and Brad Bainer.

The Division VI Offensive Player of the Year was Jason Bainum of Williamsburg. Randy Grothaus of Delphos St. John’s was the top defensive player and the Coaches of the Year were Bob Morris of Toronto, Stasburg Franklin’s Ron Hurst, Shadyside’s Ty Fleming, Cuyahoga Heights’ Al Martin, and McComb’s Kris Alge.