No partisan races on November ballot

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, July 31, 2001

State and countywide elected officials will enjoy a political reprieve this year.

Tuesday, July 31, 2001

State and countywide elected officials will enjoy a political reprieve this year. Township trustees, village and city councilors, and board of education members are the only candidates taking center stage for this fall’s General Election.

Email newsletter signup

"There are no partisan races," said Mary "Sis" Wipert, director of the Lawrence County Board of Elections.

Deadline for filing petitions for election, including local options and issues like tax levies, is 4 p.m. Aug. 23.

Trustees and school board members whose terms expire this year will find their seats up for grabs in November – generally two trustees per township, and two to three board members per school districts.

The Ironton City Council features the most races with five. Other village councils will elect four members.

And, by early indications at the courthouse, few political races will be contested.

Only 36 people had filed petitions as of noon Monday, and not a lot of people had picked up petitions, Mrs. Wipert said.

Political seats that will appear on the November ballot, and the officeholders whose terms expire, this year are:


– Aid: John Robinson, Patty Shipley.

– Decatur: James F. McGuire, Emory McFann.

– Elizabeth: Ron David, Roy Mullins.

– Fayette: Perry Brock, Terry Wise.

– Hamilton: Bob Blankenship, Vic Hopper.

– Lawrence: Kenneth (Luke) Everhart, Alvin Harper Jr.

– Mason: Justin Simpson, David L. Wilson.

– Perry: Leland K. Fulks, John Waller.

– Rome: J.B. Finlay, Lawrence Rose.

– Symmes: Kenneth Boggs, Ronald Hatfield.

– Union: David Dick Lang, James T. Smith Jr.

– Upper: Robert Ackerman, Charles Rowe.

– Washington: David Horner, Jerry Kelly.

– Windsor: Donald R. Adkins, Jerry Ellis.



– City of Ironton Council: Unexpired term held by Richard Price, Brent Pyles (seat formerly held by Hugh Donald Scott), Jim Tordiff, Leo Ulery, Bob Vaughn.

– Athalia Council: Roger Camp, Leon Ramey, Gary A. Simpson, Barbara Ward.

– Chesapeake Council: Larry Estep, Paul E. Hart, Richard Stover, Kenneth Wolfe.

– Coal Grove Council: Ray Bentley, Eric Holmes, Larry McDaniel, Randall Wise.

– Hanging Rock Council: Terry Citti, Ruth Dodson, Carol Pennington, Janette Waginger.

– Proctorville Council: Grover Cox, Bill Elliott, Charles Stapleton, Tommy J. Willis.

– South Point Council: Robert Armstrong, David Classing, Danny Smith, Ronald L. West.



– Lawrence County Educational Service Center: Phillip Carpenter, Roland S. Hayes, Ray I. Malone.

– Chesapeake: Mike Curry, Thomas Curry.

– Fairland: Donald Pruitt, Iva Jean Willis, Charles Workman.

– Ironton: William Hannon, Rayetta Waldo.

– Dawson-Bryant: Debbie Drummond, Les Boggs, Sadie Mulkey.

– Rock Hill: Troy Hardy, Wanda Jenkins.

– South Point: Glenn Adkins, Glen Seagraves.

– Symmes Valley: Jeffrey Floyd, Timmy Hayes, John Kelley.