Filings low, Board of Elections says

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, August 1, 2001

Only 36 people had filed petitions for election as of Tuesday afternoon.

Wednesday, August 01, 2001

Only 36 people had filed petitions for election as of Tuesday afternoon. That number is low, considering 77 seats will be open for competition in this fall’s races, according to the Lawrence County Board of Elections.

Email newsletter signup

This year’s political races cover seats on school boards, city and village councils and township boards of trustees.

The most competition could come in the race for Ironton City Council where five seats will be determined by the November vote.

Townships will elect two trustees whose terms expire, while each school district will elect either two or three members.

Those who have filed for election as of Tuesday afternoon, and levies filed so far, include:


– Aid: Patty Shipley, John Robinson.

– Decatur: Ralph E. Cox, Emory McFann, Garrett McFann, Kenneth Jiles, Charles Norris.

– Elizabeth: Ron Davis.

– Fayette: Perry Brock, Terry F. Wise.

– Hamilton: Bob Blankenship, Vic Hopper.

– Lawrence: Alvin Harper, Kenneth Luke Everhart.

– Mason: Justin Simpson.

– Perry: Leland K. Fulks, John Waller, Allan Blankenship.

– Rome: Dean Cooper, Phillips Ash.

– Symmes: Ronald Hatfield, Kenneth Boggs.

– Union: David Leffingwell, James T. Smith, Rick Gue.

– Upper: Robert Ackerman, Charles Rowe.

– Washington: None

– Windsor: Albert Childers.



– City of Ironton Council: None

– Athalia Council: None

– Chesapeake Council: None

– Coal Grove Council: Kenneth J. Pyles.

– Hanging Rock Council: None

– Proctorville Council: None

– South Point Council: Robert Armstrong, David Classing.



– Lawrence County Educational Service Center: Phillip Carpenter, Roland S. Hayes, Ray Malone.

– Chesapeake: None

– Fairland: Charles Workman.

– Ironton: None

– Dawson-Bryant: None

– Rock Hill: None

– South Point: Eric Edwards

– Symmes Valley: None



– Proctorville, renewal for current expenses, 2.5 mills

– Proctorville, fire levy renewal, 1.5 mills

– City of Ironton, general operating 1.45 percent plus $2.50 municipal fee, 2002-2004