SOC players honored

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, March 6, 2002

The Southern Ohio Conference contributed its fair share.

Wednesday, March 06, 2002

The Southern Ohio Conference contributed its fair share.

Email newsletter signup

A total of 24 girls and 22 boys from the SOC were named to the District 14 Ohio High School Basketball Coaches all-district team with three players earning top honors.

Green’s senior guard Megan Tackett,who averaged 24 points a game and set a school record for 3-point field goals, was the girls Division IV Player of the Year as was Wheelersburg’s Andrew Burleson in Division III and Portsmouth Clay’s Jake Davis in Division IV boys.

Eastern Brown’s Micah Harvey, the Div. III Player of the Year, was the pick to play in the North/South All-Star Game. Tackett was the alternate.

Green sophomore Meagan Pierce was honorable mention in Div. IV girls. Senior Jacob Yarnell, a 6-2 senior who averaged 14.5 points and 10.5 rebounds, was a first team pick while junior guard Ben Dyer was second team and sophomore Timmy Yarnell honorable mention.

Burleson, a 6-foot-6 senior, averaged 29.1 pints and 8.3 rebounds. Davis averaged 15.8 points. The Wright State signee was the Div. III-IV selection to the North/South All-Star Game.

Wheelersburg’s Bryan Yelley, a 6-3 senior, was voted to the third team while senior Dustin Winebrenner was honorable mention.

Portsmouth’s 6-6 senior center R. K. Thurman was a first team pick in Div. III along with Eastern Brown’s R. J. Beucler and Southeastern’s 6-11 Chris Skaggs.

Senior Bradley Parker of Portsmouth was honorable mention.

The boys Div. IV first team had Jacob Yarnell, Davis, Clay’s Travis Kielmar, Whiteoak’s Justin Michael, and Eastern’s Kyle Vulgamore.

The girls Div. IV first unit had Tackett, Clay’s Katie Hempill, Whiteoak’s Jackie Hauke, Leesburg Fairfield’s Lynnette Kiesling, and North Adams’ MacKenzie Copas. South Webster junior guard Brooke Hughes was a second team pick.

The girls Div. III first team included Huntington Ross’s Nicole DePugh, Piketon’s Sarah Conley, Zane Trace’s Stacey Harrington, and Portsmouth’s Larika McGinnis.

In the boys Div. II, Washington Court House senior guard Dustin Pfeifer was the top player and the North/South representative. The girls’ Player of the Year was McClain’s junior Sarah Hull while teammate Elizabeth Cockerill, a first teamer, was the North/South choice.