Top players named for Wooden Award

Published 12:00 am Thursday, April 3, 2003

LOS ANGELES - Final Four participants Nick Collison of Kansas, T.J. Ford of Texas, and Dwyane Wade of Marquette were among the John R. Wooden Award finalists announced Wednesday.

Hollis Price of Oklahoma, and David West of Xavier are the other two contenders for the player of the year honor, which will be presented April 12 at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

Ford won the Naismith Award last month.

Email newsletter signup

The five finalists are part of the 10-member Wooden Award All-American team. Others on the squad are Kirk Hinrich of Kansas, Jason Gardner of Arizona, Josh Howard of Wake Forest, Brandin Knight of Pittsburgh, and Emeka Okafor of Connecticut.

The selections were based on more than 1,000 votes by national media and college basketball experts. Ballots were not due until after the NCAA tournament began March 20.

Roy Williams of Kansas will receive the Legends of Coaching Award on April 12.