Child Welfare Club Eddy Awards winners named

Published 12:00 am Sunday, April 6, 2003

Officials from the Child Welfare Club announced the winners of the 2003 Eddy Awards this week.

The club's Eddy Test is given each year to the top 25 percent of sixth-grade students at Ironton Middle School and St. Lawrence Elementary School. Eligibility is determined by the Ohio Off-Grade Proficiency Tests, administered in the fifth grade to Ironton students, or the composite score of any nationally norm standardized test for St. Lawrence students.

The eligible students took the test Feb. 9 at Ironton Middle School. The Child Welfare Club paid for lunches for all test candidates, as well as for the test materials and scoring services.

Email newsletter signup

The club named 15 students as recipients of an Eddy Award this year. The honorees are:

Lukus Aldridge, son of Wendie Aldridge; Caleb Blackburn, son of Greg and Lora Bryant; Shayla Bradshaw, daughter of Victor and Gypsy Bradshaw; Jessica Conroy, daughter of Joe and Judy Conroy; Marissa Delong, daughter of Paul and Sherry Delong; Ashley Gannon, daughter of Sharon Gannon; Caleb Matthew Hammond, son of Jerry and Faye Hammond; Chad Harvey, son of Mark and Andrea Harvey; Jamie Jenkins, daughter of James and Kandee Hamilton; Michael Kennedy, son of Annette and Ron Neal; Zach McCarty, son of Ralph and Dana Carr; Gage Murphy, son of Frank and Jeanny Murphy; Katie Schwab, daughter of John and Tamara Schwab; Jade Shope, daughter of Krinda and Danny Shope; and Erik Stewart, son of Vicki Stidham and Preston Stewart.

This year's winners, with their parents and guests, will be honored with a banquet May 8 at the Ironton High School

cafeteria. The banquet will begin at 6 p.m.