Chamber changes leadership, inducts new directors

Published 12:00 am Sunday, June 8, 2003

SHERIDAN -- With the ceremonial passing of the gavel, the Greater Lawrence County Area Chamber of Commerce changed leadership Friday evening with a celebration of the past and a look to the future.

New president Jodi Rowe-Collins with Ohio River Bank helped led the group in bidding "thanks" to outgoing president Dianne Clement during the chamber's annual installation banquet at the Grandview Inn and Suites.

"She's been more than just a friend to me, she's been a role model," Rowe-Collins said.

Email newsletter signup

U.S. Rep. Ted Strickland (D-Ohio) and State Rep. Clyde Evans both presented proclamations

honoring Clement. State Rep. Todd Book sent a proclamation but was unable to attend.

Lawrence County Commissioner George Patterson presented Clement with an honor from the county.

"Lawrence County is very fortunate to have class people like (Clement and her husband, Gene) working in our county," he said.

Clement praised the chamber's full-time staff for making her year as president go so smoothly.

Rowe-Collins said she is humbled by the honor of becoming the next president and is looking forward to the challenges ahead.

"I feel honored to be elected president. It is a special year because the chamber is celebrating its 20th anniversary."

She pointed to some of the projects in which the chamber is currently working, including the Close-Up program, the Chesapeake Bypass project and a number of issues with the state legislature.

The chamber also inducted eight new directors. They include: Larry Anderson, Carl Bowen, Doug Cade, Mark Compston, Kevin Cooper, Steve Dodgion, Ron Eastham and Brenda Finley.

Clonch said she is pleased with the new directors and thinks the new board is among the best ever.

"The membership of the chamber keeps the focus where it should be," she said. "Those are the visionaries."