South All-Stars down North, 24-17

Published 12:00 am Monday, June 23, 2003

COLUMBUS -- Ernie Wheelwright caught three scoring passes to lead the South to a 24-17 victory over the North in the 57th annual Ohio All-Star Football Classic at Columbus Crew Stadium.

Wheelwright of Columbus Walnut Ridge (signed to play at Minnesota) finished with eight catches for 260 yards and was named MVP of the game sponsored by the Ohio High School Football Coaches Association.

South quarterback Brady Quinn of Dublin Coffman (Notre Dame) finished 6-of-18 for 146 yards and two touchdowns. He also rushed for 34 yards and was named offensive MVP for the South.

Email newsletter signup

North offensive MVP Tom Zetts of Youngstown Boardman (Youngstown State) completed 8-of-17 passes for 111 yards and a touchdown.

The North jumped out to a 14-0 lead in the first quarter. On the first play from scrimmage, Mike Kokal of Warren Harding (Miami of Ohio) threw an 84-yard touchdown pass to Ryne Robinson of Toledo Central Catholic (Miami of Ohio).

A few seconds later, Bryan Howe of Akron Ellet (Akron) intercepted Quinn, setting up a successful touchdown drive for the North.

Wheelwright caught TD passes of 27 yards from Kenton's Ben Mauk (Wake Forest) in the first quarter and 18 yards from Quinn in the second. The halftime score was 17-17.

The South scored the go-ahead touchdown in the third quarter on Quinn's 9-yard pass to Wheelwright.

In the fourth quarter, the North drove to the South's 15-yard line. On a fourth down with 30 seconds left, Mike Alston of Columbus Beechcroft (Toledo) sacked Kokal to halt the drive.

The South defensive MVP was back Jerrid Gaines of Springfield South (Miami of Ohio); North defensive MVP was back Tony Gonzalez of Cleveland St. Ignatius (Ohio State).