Ballot for 2003 general election set

Published 12:00 am Monday, August 25, 2003

An election that once looked like it would be a four-way race for Ironton's next mayor has been whittled down to only incumbent Bob Cleary and Councilman John Elam.

Charles "Duke" Sheridan withdrew his petition last week. City building officer Karl Wentz was removed from the ballot because he turned in only 300 signatures, several of which were thrown out by the Lawrence County Board of Elections Friday.

The rest of the field was confirmed for the general election in November. Incumbents are candidates who are seeking reelection for a particular position.

Email newsletter signup


Incumbents Jesse R. Roberts and Richard Price will go up against newcomers Charles Kouns and Charles O'Leary for three council positions.

Village of Athalia: Mayor Ron McClintock will seek reelection. Kevin Todd Newman and incumbent Melodie Brumfield will run for two positions on council.

Village of Chesapeake: Mayor Jimmie Justice will run against Terry Griffin. Incumbent Peggy Houston was the only candidate for the clerk/treasurer position. Incumbents Joyce C. Stollings and Joe Bevans are the only candidates for two council seats.

Village of Coal Grove: Mayor Tom McKnight will be challenged by councilmen Kenneth J. Pyles and Larry McDaniel. Newcomers Charles E. Brown, Nick Miller and Joe Waller will run against incumbent Fredrick Phil Roush for three council positions. Deborah J. Fields and Patty Markins filed for clerk.

Village of Hanging Rock: Vic Hopper Jr. and Chris Davidson will run for mayor. Carole A Goldcamp filed for clerk/treasurer.

Village of Proctorville: Mayor Jimmy Buchanan will run against Robert D. Boston. Darrell Legg will run for reelection as clerk/treasurer. Incumbent Charles R. Carson is the only candidate for council although two seats are available.

Village of South Point:

Mayor Bill Gaskin will run against Chadd Hatfield and Terry Wise. Incumbents Buel Collins and Marlene Arthur will face Joseph Black for two council positions.


Aid Township: Incumbent Judith Balmer will run against Gina Sanders for

clerk. Incumbent Garold Herrell will face Victoria Scheitler-Slem for the vacant trustee seat.

Decatur Township: Edmond Allbright filed for clerk.

Garold Cox filed one trustee seat and Patty Cox filed for an unexpired trustee term.

Elizabeth Township: Incumbent Lois Barcus filed for clerk.

Incumbent Steve Wilds will run against Rick Cox for trustee.

Fayette Township: Incumbent Les York filed for clerk.

Incumbent Don Hackworth will face Leslie Brock and Don Schritter for the vacant trustee position.

Hamilton Township: Incumbents Bill Robinson and Sue Robinson filed for trustee and clerk, respectively.

Lawrence Township: Incumbent Jon Collier will face Chauchey Neal Jr. for trustee. Lori Morris and Cecil Coffman Jr. filed for clerk.

Mason Township: Incumbent Michael Pinkerman will face Mike Wilson for trustee. Richa Shepherd will seek reelection as clerk.

Perry Township:

Larry Joe Clark, Stanley Harmon, incumbent Scott Swartzwelder, Gary Ross filed for the single trustee seat. The board removed the petitions of Bill Allen and Lawrence Hysell for a lack of signatures. George Rowe filed for clerk.

Rome Township: Incumbent Charles H. Fuller and Ronnie Whitley filed for one trustee spot. Incumbent Maxine Jenkins will face Keith Wagner and James Spurlock for clerk. Charles E. Dennison's petition was thrown out for insufficient signatures.

Symmes Township: Fayne Taylor, Cecil Mays will face incumbent C.D. Pemberton for one trustee spot. Sandra McComas will seek reelection as clerk against David Hamilton and Linda Carpenter.

Union Township: Terry Porter will seek reelection as trustee and Randy Wood will seek reelection as clerk.

Upper Township: Jerry Rowe filed for the one trustee spot. Betty Jo Burke, incumbent Eddie Markins and Tyler Walters will face off for clerk.

Washington Township: Barbarina Davidson will face incumbent Patricia Keels for clerk. Incumbent Douglas Dickens will run against Hope Rippey for trustee. Troy Ray Spence, Peggy Horner, Randy Delawder and Michael Walter filed for an unexpired trustee term.

Windsor Township: Mark Allen Johnson will seek reelection as trustee and Marvin McCallister will seek reelection as clerk.


Dawson-Bryant Local Schools:

Incumbents Kay Bentley Swartzwelder and James Gilbert Beals will compete against William E. Stapleton for two positions.

Chesapeake Union Exempted Village Schools: Judge Dolan, Tom Heffner, David Jordan and incumbents Carl B. Lilly Jr. and Paul Leffingwell will compete for three available seats. The board removed Karen Pearson's petition because of insufficient signatures.

Fairland Local School District:

Candidates filing for two seats were Larry Maynard, incumbent Bob Mayo, David Lindsey, Brian Morgan, Donald Pruitt, Chris Mays, David Salyers, Gary Sowards, John Clarkson and Jason Morris. Lester Brumfield and Joseph Pemberton will compete for an unexpired term. Harry Hall III was removed fro insufficient signatures.

Ironton City Schools: Tim Johnson, incumbent Robert Pleasant Jr., Paul Kuehne, Kathy Kratzenberg, James Colegrove and Gary Neal will compete for three positions.

Lawrence County Educational Service Center: Incumbents Darrell Davis and Gerald Love were the only candidates for two open seats.

Rock Hill Local Schools: Incumbents Rich Donohue and Jackie Harris will run against Paul Johnson, Lavetta Sites, Dennie Hankins, Jeff Davenport, Brent Lewis for three available seats.

South Point Local Schools:

Glen Seagraves, John W. Hudnall and Bill Rose will face incumbent Terry Blake for three seats.

Symmes Valley Local Schools: Incumbent Kim Turner will face Michael Patterson, Christopher Thompson and Kent Wells for two open seats.