Office seekers already planning for 2004

Published 12:00 am Thursday, October 30, 2003

The 2003 election is just days away, but some Lawrence Countians have their eyes on a more distant prize.

One man has formally filed to run for one of two county commission seats up for grabs in 2004. Some incumbents and election hopefuls have asked for petitions, but have yet to turn them in. The deadline for filing to run for any office available next year in Jan. 2.

Kenneth B. Ater, 53, of Chesapeake, has filed to run for the county commission seat now held by Lawrence County Commission President George Patterson. Lawrence County Board of Elections Director Mary Wipert said Patterson has a petition out, but has not yet turned it back in. Ater is a Republican and Patterson is a Democrat.

Email newsletter signup

Both Patterson and Commissioner Jason Stephens will face reelection next year. Commissioner Doug Malone took office this year.

Ater is the only person who has completed the filing process so far. Wipert said several people have petitions out for a number of county offices including:

4Clerk of Courts: Bob Blankenship, Democrat

4Coroner: incumbent Burton Payne, Republican

4Prosecutor: incumbent J.B. Collier Jr., Republican

4Recorder: Sharon Gossett Hager and Harriet Scragg, both Republicans

4Treasurer: Rod Depriest, Republican