Pleasant, Johnson, Kratzenberg elected to school board

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, November 5, 2003

Two new faces will be on the Ironton Board of Education.

Newcomer Tim Johnson, returning board member Kathy Kratzenberg and incumbent Robert Pleasant Jr. were the top three vote-getters in Tuesday's election.

With all ballots counted, Pleasant garnered the most support, collecting 2,033 votes. Pleasant said he thought his victory was an indication that people are pleased with the direction the school district is going.

Email newsletter signup

"I think they've seen the development the district has gone through and they want to continue the progress," Pleasant said. "I think they want to continue what we've started."

In his first attempt at elective office, Johnson received 1,886 votes. Johnson said the nod from the voters is an incredible feeling.

"It's just awesome," Johnson said. "I'm humbled and thankful that people have so much confidence in me, and I want them to know I will do my best and uphold that (confidence). It's really unbelievable."

Kratzenberg came in third with 1,728 votes. She said she thought the "Meet The Candidates" night, sponsored by the Ironton Cooperative Club, helped her win votes.

"I think it was a big factor. People saw it and it made an impression," Kratzenberg said.

Incumbent Gary Neal placed fourth with 1,317 votes. Newcomers James Colegrove and Paul Kuehne collected 1,038 and 832 votes respectively.

Two newcomers will take seats on the Rock Hill Board of Education. Paul R. Johnson collected the most votes of the seven people running: 1,195 votes.

Johnson said he thought his years of working with the little league helped him win the confidence of the Rock Hill parents.

"They know how I treated the kids, that I was fair with them. I just want to look out for the kids," Johnson said.

Former board treasurer Lavetta Sites came in a very close second with 1,193 votes. Board President Jackie Harris came in third place with 1,132 votes. Incumbent Rich Donohue came in fourth with 1,064 votes, followed by the Rev. Dennie Hankins with 1,057, the Rev. Jeff Davenport with 879 votes and Brent Lewis with 619 votes.

In the Fairland School Board race, Lester Brumfield Jr. will fill the unexpired term of

Ted Edwards. Brumfield collected 1,056 votes as compared with Joe Pemberton's 885. Pemberton was appointed earlier this year to fill

Edwards' seat on the board until the election.

Brumfield will join incumbent board member Bob Mayo, who was the top vote getter for two available seats. Mayo collected 844 votes. Newcomer Jason Morris came in second with 726 votes. Gary Sowards came in third with 639 votes, followed by David Lindsey, 614; John Clarkson, 373; Chris Mays,334; David Salyers, 283, Larry B. Maynard, 99, and Brian Morgan, 96.

In the Symmes Valley School District, newcomer Michael Patterson collected the most votes: 665. Kent Wells came in second with 536 votes. Incumbent Kim Turner placed third with 507 votes; newcomer Chris Thompson collected 384 votes.

In the South Point School District, incumbent Terry W. Blake collected 1,508 votes. Glen Seagraves placed second with 1,362 votes; Bill Rose placed third with 1,225 votes. All will get a seat on the board because there were three seats up for grabs.

In the Dawson-Bryant School District, Kay Bentley Swartzwelder was defeated in her bid for reelection. In the end, the voters gave incumbent Jim Beals 821 votes and newcomer William E. Stapleton 865 votes. Swartzwelder collected 776.

In the Chesapeake School Board race, the top three vote getters were newcomer Judge L. Dolen, with 939 votes, David Jordan, with 566 votes and incumbent Paul Leffingwell, with 562 votes. Incumbent Carl B. Lilly Jr placed fourth with 540 votes, followed by Tom Heffner with 501 and Karen Pearson with 266.