2004 field of primary candidates growing

Published 12:00 am Sunday, November 23, 2003

The list of people planning to run in the 2004 primary is growing.

Commissioner Jason Stephens Thursday has filed his petition with the Lawrence County Board of Elections. Stephens, a Republican, is seeking his second term in office.

Commission President George Patterson said he will file his petition in the near future. Patterson, a Democrat, is seeking his sixth term in office.

Email newsletter signup

Others who have picked up petitions are:

County Commission

Kenneth B. Ater, Republican, to oppose Patterson

Lawrence County Sheriff

Russell Bennett, Democrat


James Wagner, Democrat

Kyle McKnight, Republican

Rod Depriest, Republican

Clerk of Courts

Tom Brammer, Republican

Kenton Jordan, Republican

Dale Burcham, incumbent, Democrat

Ron Davis, Democrat

Kenneth Wolfe, Republican

Bob Blankenship, Democrat

County Engineer

David Lynd, incumbent, Republican


Burton Payne, incumbent, Republican


J.B. Collier, incumbent, Republican


Sharon Hager, Republican

Harriet Scragg, Republican