Herd#039;s Watts headlines 14 All-MAC repeaters

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, December 2, 2003

CLEVELAND - There were 14 repeaters on the All-Mid-American Conference football teams announced Monday.

Honored as first-team selections as they were in 2003 are offensive lineman Nick Kaczur of Toledo, wide receiver Darius Watts of Marshall, running back Michael Turner, defensive back Randee Drew of Northern Illinois, defensive lineman Jason Babin of Western Michigan and defensive back Atari Bigby of the University of Central Florida.

First-team 2003 honorees who were second-team all-MAC last year are quarterback Ben Roethlisberger of Miami, outside linebacker Brian Atkinson of Northern Illinois, defensive lineman Jamus Martin of Marshall, defensive back Janssen Patton of Bowling Green and defensive back Justin Beriault of Ball State.

Email newsletter signup

Steve Azar of Northern Illinois was honored for the fourth consecutive season as an all-MAC selection. Azar was an honorable mention all-MAC in 2000, a first-team selection in 2001 and second team in 2003, as well as his first-team honors this year. Azar was one of 10 Huskies selected this season, the most from any MAC team.

Miami had the second most selections with nine while Toledo and Marshall each had seven honorees.


First Team

Offense: Center-Scott Mruczkowski, Bowling Green, jr. Linemen-Nick Kazcur, Toledo, jr.; Nate McPeek, Marshall, sr.; Jacob Bell, Miami, sr.; Jake VerStraete, N. Illinois, jr. Tight End-Andrew Clarke, Toledo, jr. Wide Receivers-Darius Watts, Marshall, sr.; Lance Moore, Toledo, jr.; P.J. Fleck, N. Illinois, sr. Quarterback-Ben Roethlisberger, Miami, jr. Backs-Michael Turner, N. Illinois, sr. Anthony Sherrell, E. Michigan, jr.; P.J. Pope, Bowling Green, soph. Kicker-Steve Azar, N. Illinois, sr.

Defense: Outside Linebackers-Lorenzo Scott, Ball St., sr.; Brian Atkinson, N. Illinois, jr. Linemen-Jason Babin, W. Michigan, sr.; Vinson Reynolds, N. Illinois, sr.; Phil Smith, Miami, sr.; Jamus Martin, Marshall, jr. Inside Linebackers-David Lusky, E. Michigan, sr.; Terrell Jones, Miami, sr. Backs-Janssen Patton, Bowling Green, sr.; Randee Drew, N. Illinois, sr.; Atari Bigby, UCF, jr.; Justin Beriault, Ball St., jr. Punter-Adam Anderson, W. Michigan, jr.

Second Team

Offense: Center-Todd Londot, Miami, soph. Linemen-Erik Faasen, Toledo, sr.; Travis Barclay, Ball St., sr.; Adam Kieft, Cent. Michigan, jr.; Ben Herrell, Miami, sr. Tight End-Matt Brandt, Miami, sr. Wide Receivers-Matt Cherry, Akron, sr.; Martin Nance, Miami, soph.; Greg Jennings, W. Michigan, soph. Quarterback-Josh Harris, Bowling Green, sr. Backs-Jerry Seymour, Cent. Michigan, fr.; Earl Charles, Marshall, jr.; Trinity Dawson, Toledo, soph. Kicker-Jason Swiger, Akron, soph.

Defense: Outside Linebackers-Terna Nande, Miami, soph.; Charles Tynes, Marshall, sr. Linemen-Jack Gitler, W. Michigan, jr.; Frank Ofili, Toledo, sr.; Mitchell Crossley, Bowling Green, soph.; Toriano Brown, Marshall, sr. Inside Linebackers-Brock Dodrill, Toledo, jr.; Chase Blackburn, Akron, jr. Backs-Rickey McKenzie, Akron, sr.; James King, Cent. Michigan, jr.; Akil Grant, N. Illinois, sr.; Mark Graham, Buffalo, sr. Punter-Matt Prater, UCF, soph.

Honoroable Mention

Wide Receiver-Kendrick Mosley, W. Michigan, sr. Center-Todd Ghilani, N. Illinois, sr. Inside Linebacker-Eric Mahl, Kent St., jr. Tight Ends-Mike Brake, Akron, sr.; Jason Rader, Marshall, sr. Inside Linebacker-Nick Duffy, N. Illinois, sr.