List of candidates, issues for March primary getting longer

Published 12:00 am Sunday, December 14, 2003

Entities that plan to put a levy or other issue on the March primary ballot have until Thursday to

file the appropriate paperwork with the Lawrence County Board of Elections.

As of Thursday, two fire departments had filed the necessary paperwork for issues. Perry Township voters will vote on a 1-mil replacement levy for the fire department. Chesapeake voters will decide whether to continue a 1.5-mil renewal levy.

Email newsletter signup

Chesapeake Village Clerk Peggy Houston said the levy was first enacted five years ago. The money will be used to pay for the village's new fire truck. Perry Township Fire Chief Dewey Derifield said that the money from his township's levy will be used to purchase new and maintain current equipment.

"For the protection you get, it's well worth it," Derifield said. "There are no administrative costs, no salaries - we're all volunteer. The people are getting the full value for their money."

The levy has been in existence since the 1970s. Derifield estimated that the levy brings in roughly $50,000 a year, which amounts to approximately $20 to $40 per household annually.

Meanwhile, the list of candidates - and potential candidates - in the March primary is growing.

These people have indicated they plan to run for office. Those with an asterisk beside their name indicates they have officially filed to run.

Lawrence County Commission, Jan. 2 seat

Wayne Pennington, Democrat*

Jason Stephens, Republican*

Mark Malone, Democrat

Lawrence County Commission, Jan. 3 seat

George Patterson, Democrat

Kenneth B. Ater, Republican*

Lawrence County Engineer

David Lynd, Republican*

Lawrence County

Clerk of Courts

Kenneth Wolfe, Republican*

John Smith, Republican*

Bob Blankenship. Democrat

Les Boggs, Republican

Thomas M. Brammer, Republican

Ron Davis, Republican

Ted Edwards,


Kenton Jordan, Republican

Lawrence County Treasurer

James Wagner, Democrat

Rod Depriest, Republican*

Kyle McKnight, Republican


County Recorder

Sharon Hager, Republican*

David Classing, Democrat

Harriet Scragg

Lawrence County Sheriff

Russell E. Bennett, Democrat

Tim Sexton, Republican

Lawrence County Coroner

Burton Payne, Republican*