Scholarships available to students

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, January 28, 2004

High school graduation is still a few months away, but State Sen. John Carey (R-17th) wants to emphasize that it is never too soon to think about paying for college.

With several scholarships available through the Scioto County Area Community Foundation, Carey said these grants can be the starting point for students from southern Ohio.

"It is important that students from our area have every opportunity to pursue higher education," Carey said. "I just want to make this information available."

Email newsletter signup

The Scioto County Area Community Foundation offers several scholarships for which students from Lawrence County are eligible.

"As most people know, the cost of living has increased a few percent, while the cost of higher education has increased 10 to 12 percent more," said Kim Cutlip, executive director of the Scioto County Area Community Foundation. "Providing scholarships is an important part of the philanthropic efforts. It gives some students the opportunity to go to college."

The William A. Burke Health Related Scholarship is awarded by market demand for specific health care professions, other than medical or pre-med students. Applicants must be

residents of Scioto, Adams, Pike, Ross, Jackson or Lawrence counties in Ohio or Greenup or Lewis counties in Kentucky.

For the Bernard V. Counts Memorial Scholarship, applicants must show evidence of earning a varsity letter in sports and have a letter of recommendation from a varsity coach.

Students must be an Ohio resident, be a sophomore at an accredited college or university and major in environmental studies.

The Bettie L. Diehl Memorial Scholarship is for students who are pursuing a bachelor's or advanced degree in nursing.

The Hayes, Wittenmyer Architectural Scholarship is only for graduates from high schools in southern Ohio. Applicants must be pursuing a degree in architecture and have been accepted to an accredited college or university for study in an accredited school of architecture.

For the Waller Family Scholarship, applicants must pursue a degree in engineering.

The secondary preference is given to students majoring in business administration.

Though she wishes there was more scholarships and more money to go around, Cutlip said the scholarship funds continue to grow as more people in the communities make contributions.

The Foundation for the Tri-State, based in Ashland, Ky., also offers six scholarships to Lawrence County students.

The Gornall Family Viking Scholarship Fund provides four scholarships for students from Symmes Valley High School. Recipients are chosen by the alumni association.

The Ironton Area Kiwanis Scholarship is awarded to a Lawrence County student who is involved in the Key Club or other community service.

The L.P.-J.O.M.A.R. Scholarship is for a student graduating from the Ironton Catholic Schools.

For more information about any of these scholarships, call the Scioto County Area Community Foundation at 1-866-223-7223 or the Foundation for the Tri-State at (606) 324-3888.