SEOAL votes to add Ironton, three other schools to league

Published 12:00 am Thursday, September 2, 2004

JACKSON - The SEOAL wants them, but do they want the SEOAL?

Administrators of the Southeastern Ohio Athletic League voted 5-1 Wednesday to admit Ironton, Portsmouth, Chillicothe and Zanesville to form a 10-team league. Now those schools must decide to accept the invitation. Jackson cast the 'no' vote.

League officials agreed to divide the league into two divisions with teams playing each division member once in football plus three schools from the other division on a rotating basis.

Email newsletter signup

Scheduling plans for other sports remain under discussion.

Ironton's return to the SEOAL is uncertain. Despite being accepted, Ironton officials are concerned about the extended travel for sports other than football and the effect it will have on academics.

The league currently consists of Athens, Gallipolis, Jackson, Logan, Marietta and Vincent Warren.

One division, yet unnamed, would include Ironton as well as Jackson, Portsmouth, Gallipolis and Chillicothe. The other five schools would comprise the other division.