Brown wins second Ironton Country Club title

Published 12:00 am Monday, September 20, 2004

PINE GROVE - Five years between titles didn't change the feeling.

Tony Brown said winning his second Ironton Country Club championship over the Labor Day weekend was just as good as when he won his first club title in 1999.

Brown said the second was just as exciting because of the quality of the field.

Email newsletter signup

"I had pretty competition," Brown said. "Justin Collins, John Gagai and Shawn Armstrong are all real good golfers. It was a good tournament."

Brown opened the tournament with rounds of 68 and 66 to go 6 under. He finished the final two days at 73 and 71. He finished with a 278, three strokes ahead of Collins who shot a 281. Gagai and Armstrong tied for third place with 283 totals.

"I didn't putt well the first day. I putted much better second day," Brown said.

Heading into the final day of competition Brown had a one-stroke lead. Collins drew even after the first 14 holes, but then came the decisive turn of events.

"Justin hit one out of bounds and I birdied the hole and that was enough to make a difference. It was looking like a playoff until No. 15," Brown said.

Jane Mains won the women's club title with a 171 total. Doug Ison was the seniors champion and Carlos Willis was the super seniors winner.

Ironton Country Club

Club Championship

72 Holes

1. Tony Brown 278, 2. Justin Collins 281, 3. John Gagai 283, Shawn Armstrong 283.

Women's Championship

36 Holes

1. Jane Mains 171, 2. Becky Dillow 183, 3. Mary Kay Washburn 192.

Seniors Championship

54 Holes

1. Doug Ison 225, 2. Del Henry 228, 3. Dave Surgalski 230, 4. Greg Justice 233

Super Seniors

54 Holes

1. Carlos Willis 234, 2. Mort Willis 240, 3. John Lutz 277.

First Flight

1. Tom Isaac, 2. Burl Bunker

Second Flight

1. Dale Roth, 2. Dennis Colegrove

Third Flight

1. Jeff Dillow, 2. John Kammerer

Fourth Flight

1. Andy Gagai, 2. Bill Hughes

Junior Championship

Under age 10 Division

1. Chris Lewis

10-12 Age Division

1. Tommy Waginger, 2. Josh Edioke.

13-15 Age Division

1. Seth Christian, 2. Nathan Kerns, 3. Nick Lewis.

16-18 Age Division

1. Jay Rudmann, 2. Tyler Jayne, 3. Gavin Harbolt, 4. Seth Haynes.

(Note: Junior divisions played at an earlier date)