Soccer coaches present awards

Published 12:00 am Sunday, November 7, 2004


The Southeast Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association announced its annual all-district awards with several area players among the honorees.

Named to the boys Class A first team was South Point senior forward Steven Leighty.

Email newsletter signup

On the second team were two Wheelersburg seniors, forward Bryan Craft and midfielder Rob Lyon.

In the boys' Division II selections, Leighty and teammate Evan Hung, a senior defender, were voted honorable mention.

On the boys' Division III first team were Craft and Wheelersburg junior midfielder Drew Sampson.

Ironton St. Joseph sophomore forward Ryan Schwab headed the Division III second team picks. He was joined by Wheelersburg's Rob Lyon and freshman stopper Wes Lyon.

On the Division III honorable mention list were St. Joseph junior defender Matthew Caldwell and junior midfielder Crosby Clyse along with Wheelersburg junior sweeper Craig Chaffin and senior defender Tyler Holsinger.

Named to the girls' Class A first team was senior defender Jessica Boll of Wheelersburg. Boll was also named to the girls' Division II first team.

St. Joseph freshman forward Danielle Blair was a girls' Division II honorable mention selection.

Besides individual coaching and player awards, the Ron Pinsenschaum Award was presented to John Schwab II, head coach of the St. Joseph Flyers.

Besides the playing awards, all-academic members were chosen. Players must have at least a 3.7 to 4.0 grade point average.

St. Joseph senior Tom Gillespie was honored on the All-Ohio academic team along with Abraham Peed, Ian Miller and Jessica Boll of Wheelersburg, all seniors.

Teams with a 3.0 to 4.0 GPA were St. Joseph and Wheelersburg.

Sportsmanship awards were present to teams that did not receive a red card all season. Among the 23 teams honored were St. Joseph and Wheelersburg.

The district all-star games will be held Sunday at Lucasville Valley High School. The girls' game is at 1 p.m. followed by the boys' game at 3 p.m.